April 14, 2016




Kikagaku Moyo have shared another new track from their forthcoming album ‘House In The Tall Grass’, set for release on May 13th via Guruguru Brain.

One of the record’s more introverted & contemplative moments, bassist Guy explains this latest track,‘Melted Crystal’ saying: “I was just playing the guitar one day and the notes flowed from my fingers naturally…  I like to make new by layering different guitar phrases. I like doing it that way because if it turns out well, each phrase melts into each other and becomes one. That’’s how I came up with the name Melted Crystal”.

Kikagaku Moyo will play a string of UK shows this May and have been confirmed to play Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia this September.

Kikagaku Moyo’s sound encompasses a broad spectrum of influence & elements of classical Indian music, Krautrock, traditional folk, and 70s Rock. Most importantly their music is about freedom of the mind and body, and building a bridge between the supernatural and the present. Improvisation is a key element to their sound.

Like a long journey House In The Tall Grass unfolds through many layers. Existing fans of Kikagaku Moyowill be comforted by the soft vocals harmonies and warm sitar, but what sets this release apart is the refinement of the band’s song-writing and their delicate execution. Side A begins with a pair of travelling songs where the interplay between the vocals, guitar, and sitar lift and suspend the listener on an unexpected journey. The patient listener is rewarded with tracks such as “Trad” and “Silver Owl” which demonstrate the masterful balance the band has between soft and loud; chaos and order, or being both cold and tender at the same time.

“We wanted to make a record which would bring scenic images to the listeners” explains drummer, Go Kurosawa. “The idea came to my mind when I took a trip to the north of Japan. It was very cold outside, but the place I stayed was warm. I was amazed by how quiet it was outside with the snow absorbing all sound. It felt like I was covering my ears with my hands or I was under the sea. We wanted this to be a conceptual album, not a compilation of discrete tracks. I had been listening to two film soundtracks, one written by Bruce Langhorne for a western movie called The Hired Hand, the other, Ry Cooder’s soundtrack for Paris, Texas. I was deeply inspired by these records, and both created the kind of intense scenic images I was interested in.”

Kikagaku Moyo (translated as “geometric patterns”) started in the summer of 2012 busking on the streets of Tokyo. Though the band started as a free music collective, it quickly evolved into a tight group of multi-instrumentalists.

Last year they toured across Europe selling out shows in Berlin, London, Paris, Porto, Lisbon, Barcelona and Geneva. They appeared at Eindhoven Psych Lab and Duna Jam, earning a reputation as fierce and captivating performers. They also released a split 7” with Moon Duo late last year.

House in the Tall Grass is available to pre-order HERE.

House in the Tall Grass tracklist:
01. Green Sugar
02. Kogarashi
03. Old Snow, White Sun
04. Melted Crystal
05. Dune
06. Silver Owl
07. Fata Morgana
08. Trad
09. Cardigan Song

Kikagaku Moyo live dates:
25 Bristol, UK Cube
26 London, UK, London Fields Brewery
27 Manchester, UK, Star and Garter
28 Glasgow, Scotland, Nice’n’Sleazys
29 Leeds, UK, Karma Fest
30 Brighton UK, Bleach
23-24 Liverpool UK, Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia (Guruguru Brain stage)

House in the Tall Grass pre-order link
Kikagaku Moyo on Facebook
Guruguru Brain web site
Guruguru Brain on Facebook

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.