Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Introducing Omni; Trouble in Mind to release debut album, Deluxe on 8th July

April 24, 2016
Brock Scott

Brock Scott

Introducing Omni; Trouble in Mind
to release debut album, Deluxe
on 8th July

Video for lead single “After Life” premieres on Stereogum

Omni are from the former home of the Braves: Atlanta. Playing lo-fi pop that channels the specter of the late ‘70s and early ‘80s, Omni brings you back to an era where any sane person was reeling from the unfulfilled promise of the Space Age and Age of Aquarius bleeding into the looming threat of “Morning in America.” Omni distills the buzz and grit that snakes through the best of Television, Devo, and Pylon into surprisingly danceable, hook-laden slabs of raw, angular, sonic bliss. It’s still the summer of ’78, and pushing the roots of rock & roll to its limits remains in vogue.

Their debut album, Deluxe, serves as a fresh reminder that rock music can work outside of blues rooted, formulaic progressions without playing it safe behind a wall of effects.  Arty enough to impress record enthusiasts, yet melodically attractive enough to transcend to those who’ve never asked: “Sister Midnight” or “Red Money?”

The video for their debut single, “Afterlife,” premiered via Stereogum.

Omni is guitarist Frankie Broyles (ex-Deerhunter, Balkans), bassist/vocalist Philip Frobos (ex-Carnivores) and drummer Billy Mitchell (ex-Carnivores).

Debut album, Deluxe is out 8th July via Trouble in Mind.

1. Afterlife
2. Wednesday Wdding
3. Wire
4. Earrings
5. Jungle Jenny
6. Cold Vermouth
7. Eyes On The Floor
8. Siam
9. Plane
10. 78

Pre-order Deluxe:

Omni online:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.