Tomlab to release new album from Misha on 20th May

March 12, 2016





Misha, the project of producer, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter John Chao, will release their highly anticipated second album All We Will Become on 20th May onTomlab Records.

Listen and share the first track “Limelight” here.

The new album, a follow-up to the band’s acclaimed Teardrop Sweetheart, is the first new music from Misha in eight years. The album also heralds the relaunch of Tomlab – the Berlin label renowned for its releases of The Books, Thee Oh Sees, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Patrick Wolf and many more.

Watch the trailer for All We Will Become here

All We Will Become marks the rebirth of Misha and Tomlab, with the band emerging from a hiatus with a new lineup and a bolder expression of the pop sensibilities introduced onTeardrop Sweetheart. The album was written and recorded by Chao in Tokyo, New York and Texas and reflects his upbringing – incorporating influences as specific and diverse as Texas drum corp, New Orleans second line, the French composer Olivier Messiaen, Bollywood and more.

Written in the wake of his breakup with his partner and former bandmate, All We Will Become deals with Buddhist themes of reincarnation and renewal. “For me, the songs on All We Will Become are about the many ways love appears in our lives – from the heady rush to bitters weetness of endings – and above all, the endless possibilities that are all around us,” says Chao.

Chao wrote and performed nearly all of the music on the album, with additional contributions from vocalists Ronit Granot, who sings on eight tracks, and Amy Vachal, as well as members of the Long Winters and Lee Field & The Expressions. All We Will Become was mixed by James Clarke, Jr. of Mirrorball Entertainment (Autre Ne Vuet) and mastered by James Krausse (Beyoncé, Nick Jonas).

Chao was born in Taiwan and raised between Hong Kong, Louisiana and Texas, playing in myriad bands along the way.  Misha was founded with his former romantic and creative partner, and together they recorded and released Teardrop Sweetheart – which garnered notice and acclaim from Stereogum, Pitchfork, XLR8R, Teen Vogue, MTV etc.

1. This is How it Must Begin
2. You
3. We’re Gonna Have it Out (Modern Love)
4. Limelight
5. Optical Illusion of the Heart
6. Elater
7. Nightshades
8. In Reverse
9. Blood Is Hard Enough
10. Everywhere and Everything
11. Lion Bark (Luminous)
12. Chartres

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.