March 20, 2016



This sumptuously illustrated oral history presents the story of Opeth, from their earliest days until the present, in glorious dark colour. Told in the first-person by Mikael, the band, their friends, former members and collaborators, it is illustrated throughout with hundreds of previously unseen, rare artworks and memorabilia. It includes early, personal, candid, studio and live photographs, and an extensive illustrated discography.

Every copy of the first 4,000 books come with a vinyl pressing of previously unreleased acoustic versions of ‘Atonement’ & ‘Demon of the Fall’, which will only be available with Book of Opeth. The strictly limited edition–all numbered and signed by Mikael–also includes three art prints by Opeth sleeve designer Travis Smith.

Get Book of Opeth while you still have time…

Book of Opeth is the first official book to tell the story of the band, by the band. Mikael, Peter, both Martins, Fredrik, Joakim and former members have searched their memories and photo albums in order to contribute to this unique work.

Illustrated with photographs taken from their earliest days through to the recording of Pale Communion and beyond, here are Opeth as they’ve never been seen before. Band members cite their influences, recall their first days with the band and offer anecdotes and stories about each other which reveal the dynamics of the band.

The book is sumptuously and lovingly packaged, comes with otherwise unavailable recordings and images and is a precious and rare item. Frank, funny, revealing and totally original, Book of Opeth tells the story of one of rock’s most important, influential and original bands.

Check out for more information and watch for further announcements.

Book of Opeth., published by Rocket 88 Books is available to order now exclusively from

Orders will be shipped in April.

There are pictures from pre-recording days – before we even had a contract – of us recording the first album, rocking out in our rehearsal room, getting our first tattoos; there’s loads of great stuff in here…” – Mikael Akerfeldt

The Editions:

The Classic edition  –  £40

  • Limited to 3,500 copies
  • A large format, 208-page full-colour hardback, printed on heavy-weight art paper
  • Over 300 images, many of which are rare and previously unseen
  • 7” record exclusive to the book
  • Wrapped in silk cloth with foil detailing

The Signature edition  – £250

  • The Classic edition with a black-on-black cover
  • 7” record exclusive to the book
  • Limited edition of 500 hand-numbered sets – signed & numbered by Mikael Akerfeldt
  • Each set signed and numbered by Mikael Akerfeldt
  • Also includes three limited edition fine art prints by Travis Smith, hand-numbered to match the book
  •  Presented in a clamshell box covered in black cloth with foil detailing

Earlier this week Opeth also announced that they will headline SSE Wembley Arena on 19th November. Tickets go on sale from tomorrow.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.