SKATING POLLY share video for visceral new track “Perfume for Now” by Elliott Smith documentarian Nickolas Rossi

February 28, 2016




Oklahoma stepsister duo Skating Polly have shared the second single from their forthcoming album“The Big Fit” which is set for release on April 8th via Chap Stereo.

The new track “Perfume For Now” is a feisty snapshot of their sugar-laced raw & visceral punk and has been brought to life by Nickolas Rossi, director of the 2014 Elliott Smith documentary Heaven Adores You.

“I wrote Perfume For Now hoping to come up with an L7 anthem type chorus and a noisy basitar solo”explains Skating Polly’s 15 year old whirlwind, Kelli Mayo. “It’s about trusting someone with all your heart and then realizing they’re despicable and not worthy of your admiration.”


Last year, Peyton Bighorse and Kelli Mayo toured the UK for the first time, supporting Babes in Toyland on their reunion shows. During the last show of the tour in Glasgow, Kelli “did a Dave Grohl” when she tripped, dislocating her knee & tearing a ligament. Unfazed & in true rock’n’roll spirit, she continued the rest of the set sitting down.

One year (and months of physio) later, the duo -who have been making music together for 6 years (since they were 9 and 14 years old)-  prepare for their first UK album release.

The Big Fit, is their most fully realized collection of head-bopping, not quite sugar-sweet pop music infused with visceral, distortion-drenched punk sounds. It’s raw, infectious and inciting. It’s real.

Their songs fluctuate in tone and intensity; a whisper, a scream, a piano ballad right next to a punk punch in the throat.  It’s all very “ugly pop,” as they like to point out.

“I love singing, and it’s really all I ever wanted to do,” explains Mayo.  “One day, I realized I could make up my own songs and then discovered it was easy enough to make a sound with an instrument – even if I didn’t know exactly how to play it.  Peyton had always wanted to be in a band.  I love and respect her and don’t have such a connection with anyone else on the planet.  Since she was my best friend in the world, it seemed like a fun experiment we should do together.”

It’s been six years since their first living room recordings back in their hometown of Oklahoma. Since then and the band have relocated to Tacoma WA, near Seattle, and have shared stages with the likes of Kate Nash, Babes In Toyland, The Flaming Lips, L7, Wavves, Deerhoof and turned many of their heroes into vocal fans. They’re even the subject of an upcoming documentary directed by Henry Mortensen (son of Viggo Mortensen and Exene Cervenka). What’s the fuss about? Mayo sums it up: “I think people can tell we’re pretty authentic. People can tell when songs don’t mean it, no matter what the song’s about. We try to be ourselves…and to make everything catchy.”

Produced by Kliph Scurlock (Gruff Rhys, Flaming Lips), The Big Fit is scheduled for UK release on April 8th and US release on March 25, 2016, through Chap Stereo.

The Big Fit tracklist:

1. Oddie Moore
2. Perfume for Now
3. Pretective Boy
4. Cosmetic Skull
5. Nothing More
6. Hey Sweet
7. Morning Dew
8. Arms & Opinions
9. For the View
10. Stop Digging
11. Across the Caves
12. Picker of His Words


Oddie Moore stream on YouTube
Skating Polly on YouTube
Skating Polly on Facebook
Skating Polly on Twitter
Skating Polly on Instagram

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.