The Leaf Library Reveal Video for “Asleep Between Stations” + Play London show at The Lexington on 5 January

December 3, 2015

Michael Wood


Taken from the new album Daylight Versions out on wiaiwya
Tuesday 5th January – The Lexington, Fortuna POP! Winter Sprinter
 (with Steven James Adams + Simon Love)

The latest video from The Leaf Library was made by their drummer Lewis Young for the opening track from their new album Daylight Versions. The video for “Asleep Between Stations” uses sampled footage from Keep Moving (1984), an experimental film by Rohesia Hamilton Metcalfe and is a hypnotic loop through the simple act of travelling (a theme that crops up in the song itself). Made with Rohesia’s blessing, it is a great fit for the band as a whole. Lewis explains; “The film resonated with my interpretation of the song; everyday activities distilled to their repetitions. Both tackle similar ideas about small environmental decisions, repetition and movement. I was naturally drawn to Rohesia’s work – it makes us look again at things we think we already know, inviting the viewer to consider everyday incompleteness and imperfection. These are all things we aspire to in The Leaf Library!”.
Their album Daylight Versions is full of wonderfully woozy, drone-pop tunes about meteorology, the seasons and the incoming sea; from songs about the ghostly Suffolk coastline to the slowly rising waters of London marshes, these ten tracks channel the warm fuzz of Yo La Tengo, the spacious repetition of Talk Talk and Movietone’s seaside melancholy to beautiful effect. The album is full of uneasy beauty. Graceful yet grandiose it captures the feeling of living amongst England’s eccentric weather, of being on a small island floating in the North Sea, as it slowly disappears beneath the waves.
The Leaf Library played a hugely successful album launch gig headlining The Lexington in London last month, with support from The Drink and The Hayman Kupa Band. For their set, the band were joined on stage by some of the guests on the album including Rob Smoughton from Hot Chip, Daniel Fordhamand David Stewart from The Drink and Michael Wood from Singing Adams. The Leaf Library will be playing at The Lexington again on 5 January as part of Fortuna POP!’s annual Winter Sprinter for 2016, alongside Steven James Adams (who also guested on Daylight Versions) and Simon Love.
“A charming debut, with songs soaked in atmospheres that conjure thoughts of hazy mists and setting suns.” Uncut
“Fascinating, bold and experimental drone-pop.” 9/10 Louder Than War
“Blessed with a beautiful fragility. Recalling Yo La Tengo, Galaxie 500 or even Cocteau Twins.” Clash

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.