Jad Fair & Jason Willett of Half Japanese premiere animated video for “Mars Invaded Earth” from new album

December 24, 2015


Jad Fair & Jason Willett of Half Japanese premiere first video from new album   

Art-punk legends return as duo for new album The Greatest Power 

Jad Fair and Jason Willett of legendary art-punk band Half Japanese premiere the first video from their new album as a duo today via Exclaim! The video was hand-animated by Jad Fair using his signature cutout art and is available to watch and share HERE.

SPIN recently premiered the song “Mars Invaded Earth”, which is available to hear and shareHEREConsequence of Sound previously shared the album title track “The Greatest Power”, available to hear and share HERE.

The 18-track album sees the longtime bandmates return hot on the heels of Half Japanese’s 2014 album Overjoyed, which was the band’s first recording in over 13 years.
In keeping with Half Japanese’s tradition of all songs being “either love songs or monster songs,” Jad & Jason’s latest effort vacillates between these lyrical themes throughout with Fair on vocals and “occasional instruments” (mostly guitar) and Willett on “other instruments.” Drag City artist Michael Evans plays drums on title track “The Greatest Power.”
In 1974, with his brother David, Jad Fair co-founded the lo-fi alternative rock group Half Japanese. Over the ensuing three decades, Half Japanese released nearly 30 records, and in the process, attracted a solid base of fans passionate about the band’s pure, unbridled enthusiasm for rock and roll. Jad also performs and records as a solo artist, and occasionally collaborates with such musicians as Daniel Johnston, Danielson, Teenage Fanclub, Moe Tucker (of Velvet Underground), Yo La Tengo, Steve Shelly and Thurston Moore (of Sonic Youth), John Zorn,Kramer, and more.
The Greatest Power was released on LP, CD and download on December 18th, 2015 viaDymaxion Groove Records.


Artist: Jad Fair & Jason WillettAlbum: The Greatest Power

Label: Dymaxion Groove

Release date: September 8th, 2015


01. 1111

02. Monster On the Loose

03. Are You Ready?

04. Peace Sign

05. Hold That Tiger

06. I Remember Every Word You Said

07. Far Away At Sea

08. Bubblegum Cottoncandy

09. Frankenstein Conquers the World

10. Let’s Go To Paris

11. Attack of The Giant Leeches

12. Ain’t No Sin

13. Good as Soda Pop

14. Giant From the Unknown

15. Everybody Happy?

16. Mars Invaded Earth (STREAM)

17. Drum Drop

18. The Greatest Power (STREAM)

On The Web:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.