Diminished Men bring news of their third LP for Abduction Records, ‘Vision In Crime’ – due for release February 2016

December 6, 2015
 Frank Schmitt via

Frank Schmitt via


RELEASE DATE: 26/02/15
  Diminished Men – featuring Steve Schmitt on guitars, drummer Dave Abramson (member of Master Musicians of Bukkake, has collaborated with Eyvind Kang, Secret Chiefs 3, Climax Golden Twins, Grails, etc.), and Simon Henneman on Bass VI – will be releasing a new album on February 26th. Titled Vision In Crime, the latest record from the three piece is a feature length escapade that sidewinds through jazz and soundtrack territories, as well as the outer reaches of the experimental satellite genres, retaining the unmistakeable character of the band so far, while also evoking a premonition more sinister than ever before.

Distorted through a shattered lens, Diminished Men refocus hard boiled cinema and classic instrumental music into something entirely unique. Their jagged, hard-charging approach evokes feelings of haphazard oscillation and accelerated heart rates, all the while swathing you in a blissful claustrophobia. Vision In Crime, their third release on Sun City Girl’s label, Abduction Records, unfolds like a paranormal detective story full of delinquent exotica, deranged noir, hyperventilating surf, and shortwave radio nightmares.

   The opening cut, “Chamber” – an apparition of a forensics crime scene investigation – sets the tone, but this quickly spirals into Steve Schmitt’s cobra-twilight guitar work on the Aegean Sea inspired espionage surf track “Oistros Dolorous” (listen below). From here the band’s mutant lounge carnage weaves through sinister cityscapes, plazas and kudzu infested forests on the avant spy jazz of “Kudzu Mine”. Elements of lost island noir, hallucinatory Gamelan rock, and phantom radio dispatches can be found here. By the time that mickey sets in, the title track “Vision In Crime”, a haunting ballad, closes out the album.
  Diminished Men possess dangerous musical minds pulsing with nervous electricity, shattering Fender reverb, and gorgeous, sometimes romantic melancholy. Their distinctive vision is backed up with the quality instrumentation that is crucial to forming the lucid mirages of sound that hover over Vision In Crime.  
  Vision In Crime includes special guest recording appearances by saxophonists Skerik (Critters Buggin, Garage-A-Trois, Wayne Horvitz) and Neil Welch (Bad Luck, King Tears Bat Trip).
Vision In Crime Track listing: 

1. Chamber

2. Oistros Dolorous

3. CRM Discriminator

4. Kudzu Mine

5. Preparedness Actions

6. Shadow Petram

7. Castrum Doloris

8. Kudzu Takeover

9. Ramona Four Hour

10. The Eye That Never Sleeps

11. Vision In Crime

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.