Circuit Sweet Introducing

Introducing Japanese dream-pop purveyors The fin.

November 5, 2015

The fin. - Night Time Press shot.

Japanese dream-pop purveyors The fin. – newly signed to Lost In The Manor – share lead track from ‘Night Time’ EP plus exclusive Petite Noir remix

Lost In The Manor records is proud to unveil sparkling dance-pop outfit The fin. as its latest signees. The Japanese four-piece release their ‘Night Time’ EP on all digital formats on 4 December, and  share the irresistible lead track as well as an exclusive remix by polyrhythmic South African singer/songwriter Petite Noir. The fin. play a handful of London shows in November.

About ‘Night Time’

“When I wrote ‘Night Time’, I was living far from a train station. If I missed the last train, I walked back home alone in the middle of the night. There were no cars, no people and sometimes no lights. But I had a lot of things in my head, such as past memories, hopes and fears. All of them turned into this song.” Yuto Uchino, vocals.

Succeeding in evoking the claustrophobic ambience of the small hours while exuding a shimmering euphoria, the ethereal indie-artpop of ‘Night Time’ is as inventive as it is melodic. Drawing aspects from acts as diverse as Phoenix, M83 and Metronomy, the song’s controlled disco pulse anchors horn-like synth stabs and soaring electric fretwork as Yuto Uchino’s unique contrapuntal soprano floats around a catchy refrain: “The night air must have brought something to me/All the lights are flickering/My eyes are occupied”. ‘Night Time’ is the lead track from The fin.’s first UK release, an EP mastered by Joe Lambert (Animal Collective, Warpaint, Deerhunter) and available to buy from December 4.

For his magnificent remix, Cape Town-raised noirwave exponent Petite Noir (Domino Records) has completely inverted the phrasing of Yuto’s vocal and guitarist Ryosuke’s rhythm track and set them to a heavyweight redefinition of funky nocturnal electroclash.

About The fin.

Hailing from the vibrant Japanese port city of Kobe on Osaka Bay, The fin. have become something of a reputed and singular attraction in their homeland due to their stylish Europhile blend of synth-pop, chillwave and dream-pop, complete with English lyrics addressing universal themes of everyday uncertainties. Often referenced alongside the likes of Beach House, Toro Y Moi, Mew and Washed Out, the quartet have, since forming in 2012, created a sufficient stir to have performed before thousands at major Japanese festivals including Fuji Rock, Rising Sun and Viva La Rock. Not content with such acclaim in one country alone, Yuto Uchino (vocals and synths), Ryosuke Odagaki (guitar), Takayasu Taguchi (bass) and Kaoru Nakazawa (drums), each aged 24, set their sights worldwide and in March this year embarked on a major nine-date tour of the US, which included a blinding performance at SXSW. The UK is next up and what better way to announce their arrival than the four compositions of sophisticated, moreish pop that constitute the ‘Night Time’ EP. Big in Japan? Naturally, but why stop there?


See The fin. live in November

Friday 13: The Finsbury, London N4

Saturday 14: Birthdays, London N16

Sunday 15: The Old Queen’s Head, London N1

Tracklisting for ‘Night Time’


  1. The End Of The Island

  2. Night Time

  3. Curtains

  4. Veil

  5. Night Time (Petite Noir remix)


Social Media


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.