I Have A Tribe announces new EP & tour & streams lead track

November 13, 2015


I Have A Tribe
Shares new track ‘Medicine From Calgary
From ‘No Countries’ EP – out December 4 via Grönland Records
Digital pre-order:
Vinyl pre-order:

“Uplifting folk-pop” – NME
“Stark and beautiful” – Consequence Of Sound
“His lilting folk-hewn sound is already the talk of his city” – Clash
“Hushed, pitch-perfect soprano vaguely reminiscent of of Wild Beasts” – The Line Of Best Fit
 “Exquisitely restrained, his close-mic-ed vocals quivering with whisper-in-the-ear intimacy” – Q

Dublin’s Patrick O’Laoghaire, aka I Have A Tribe, has revealed ‘Medicine From Calgary’, the first track to be lifted from his forthcoming ‘No Countries’ EP. The new EP follows 2014’s debut ‘Yellow Raincoats’ EP and will be released by Grönland Records on December 4.

The ‘No Countries’ EP was produced by Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey, Torres, Anna Calvi) who also features on drums and percussion alongside Fight Like Apes’ Mary-Kate Geraghty (vocals), Ian Oliver (double bass, bass) and Ruth Wakefield (cello). The EP was mixed by Paul Savage (Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat, Dry The River, Camera Obscura).

O’Laoghaire uses the EP’s artwork, a painting by David Hedderman, to articulate his take on its five songs – “for me, ‘Medicine From Calgary’ is the orange or the red in David Hedderman’s painting. ‘No Countries, Just Animals’ is these colours too, as is ‘Tribal’. ‘Lungs’ is the lilac and white, around the left eye, or behind the right ear. ‘Psalm’ – perhaps it’s the yellow.” The Dubliner has, with the aid of producer Rob Ellis, managed to transfer this colour palette to the recording. And although Patrick always views music as something fleeting, something bound to the moment in which it is created – like a bird’s song – the new EP from I Have A Tribe has captured those moments with aplomb and has made a one-off event relivable.

‘No Countries’ follows homeland praise from the Irish Times and RTE, as well as sell-out dates in Ireland including shows for Electric Picnic and Hard Working Class Heroes festivals, plus early tastemaker praise across the likes of NME, Q, Clash, Pigeons & Planes and The Line Of Best Fit.

Having previously toured with Villagers and Anna Calvi, I Have a Tribe will tour Europe in November and December, including a London headline show at Moth Club on December 8 and a homecoming headline at Dublin Workmans Club on December 9. Further dates will be announced soon.

Forthcoming tour dates:
17 Nov Freiberg, Schmitz Katze, Germany *
18 Nov Stuttgart, Shocken, Germany *
19 Nov Heidelberg, Pret a ecouter Fest, Germany *
20 Nov Wiesbaden, Schlachthof, Germany *
21 Nov Leipzig, Distillery, Germany *
22 Nov Berlin, BiNuu, Germany*
23 Nov Hamburg, Terrace Hill, Germany *
24 Nov Munster, Sputnikhalle, Germany *
8 Dec Moth Club, London, UK
9 Dec Workmans Club, Dublin, Ireland
12 Dec Gimpse Festival, Gent, Belgium
18 Dec Essen, Hotel Shanghai, Germany

* With Slow Show | |

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.