Cold Sweats Share “Hater Failure” – Full Length Debut “Social Coma” Due out November 6th via Six 3 Collective

October 29, 2015



Cold Sweats Share “Hater Failure” via NPR Music

Full Length Debut “Social Coma” Due out November 6th via Six 3 Collective

“It’s exactly the kind of disaffected hater-anthem hook that you’d want to hear over and over again” – NPR
New York trio, Cold Sweats, are sharing their latest single “Hater Failure” today on NPR Music. The infectiously deranged noise punk anthem, driven by bustling guitar lines and scathing lyrics, is the third single from the band’s upcoming debut album, Social Coma, set to be released on November 6th via Six 3 Collective.

Social Coma is an eclectic beast of punk that ranges from drunken noise rock blasts and surf punk fuzz to walls of corrosive hardcore and sinister crooning, the complete vision of all three members as core songwriters. Cold Sweats are playing by their own rules and the results are relentless. While the band’s first single “Waste of a Day” twisted and churned through creepy dissonance, and their second single “Coney Island Cops,” was all bile and vitriol, “Hater Failure” is a rousing anthemic tune complete with just the right amount of angsty charm and self-depricating humor.

NPR Music premiered “Hater Failure,” calling the song, “Cold Sweats spends very little time with a throbbing, Pixies-indebted bass line in “Hater Failure” before lunging into the festering cherry on top. A guitar blisters over a perversely happy-go-lucky beat (think “That Thing You Do,” but a little evil), as drummer Alex Craver howls, “Well, it’s not your fault / But I blame it all on you / Because I ain’t nothin’ but a hater.”

Having previously played together in former bands, the trio are impeccably tight with radiant chemistry throughout their debut as they tear apart all genres of punk only to reshape them into their own vision. Produced by Hunter Davidsohn (Porches., Frankie Cosmos, Battle Ave) at Business District Recording Studios, the album burns through twelve tracks in just under a half an hour, each chaotic moment fueling the next over a bizarre twist of melodies, triumphantly harsh guitar tones, and crushing rhythms from Cold Sweats’ Alex Craver (drums/vocals), Brandon Musa (bass/vocals), and Peter Ives(guitar/vocals).


Upcoming Shows:

11/05 – Brooklyn, NY @ Shea Stadium w/ Bethlehem Steel & Rick Maguire (Pile)
11/06 – Ithaca, NY @ Chanticleer Loft w/ Hot Tip & why+the+wires
11/07 – Philadelphia, PA @ Everybody Hits! w/ Party Cops, The Dirty Cut, Arms Like Tree Trunks, & Abi Reimold
11/08 – Boston, MA @ Secret Location w/ Bethlehem Steel, $5.99, & Rosie and the Rosies
11/19 – Syracuse, NY @ Spark Contemporary Art Space w/ Department & Bridge Under Fire
11/21 – Columbus, OH @ The Tree Bar w/ Goldmines & Comrade Question

Hailing from Binghamton and Brooklyn, NY, Cold Sweats was formed in June 2015 by drummer Alex Craver, bassist Brandon Musa and guitarist Peter Ives. The trio recorded their debut album, Social Coma, with friend and engineer Hunter Davidsohn (Porches, Sirs, Frankie Cosmos) at his Business District Recording studios in Johnson City, NY. Davidsohn also performed on some of the tracks. Their music blends elements of punk, pop and surf. The album will be released on November 6th by Six 3 Collective from Columbus, OH.

Cold Sweats played their first show in Brooklyn, NY in July of 2015 with Shellshag, Flykills and CCTV. They hit the road in late August for a weekend with Rivergazer, Outta Gas and Media Limits. The band are preparing for a busy Fall of shows throughout the Northeast including an appearance at this year’s CMJ Music Marathon in mid-October.

Though their forthcoming self titled LP marks their official debut, New York based Cold Sweats is the culmination and realization of an upbringing in the small but passionate punk and hardcore scene of upstate New York, and years spent touring the country in bands that ran both the DIY circuit, as well as established venues. Currently based in both Binghamton and Brooklyn, New York bassist Brandon Musa, drummer Alex Craver, and guitarist Peter Ives grew up within a small community of bands that often shared stages and members, eventually leading to all three members joining together in the band Summer People. After a string of successful albums, and a rigorous touring schedule in a veggie oil powered van that earned them a loyal following across the country, Summer People called it quits, but the former bandmates soon found themselves playing together once again, and working on a new project that would become Cold Sweats.

An amalgam of dirty gritty rock n’ roll with sometimes violent and jarring guitar riffs that lay on top melodic progressions, warm bass tones, and bombastic drums, their lo-fi cacophonous sound belies thoughtful songwriting, and intentionality. The band’s debut, produced by Hunter Davidsohn was recorded in a destitute abandoned area of Binghamton, home to Twilight Zone creator Rod Sterling, and bassist Brandon Musa credits that creepy unsettling backdrop with influencing the bands sound, jokingly referring to it as “Rod Sterling punk.” With all three members heavily contributing to the writing process, and assigning vocal duties based on who fits each song, Cold Sweats is very much the sum of its parts. While rooted in their collective vision for the band, the member’s individual voices come through in both performance and composition creating a sound influenced by a range of genres, and artists that is uniquely their own.

Social Coma tracklist:
[artwork by Jackson Wingate]

1. The Business
2. Coney Island Cops [stream/embed]
3. Waste of a Day [stream/embed]
4. Trouble Every Day
5. Hater Failure [stream/embed]
6. Social Coma
7. Mock Me Gently
8. Valor in Vain
9. Souvenir
10. Problem Kids
11. Hive Mind
12. Coward in a War


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.