Demob Happy share ‘Junk DNA’- New track taken from debut album ‘Dream Soda’ due October 2nd‏

September 11, 2015



Detail AA-side single ‘Junk DNA’ / ‘Suffer You’

Stream ‘Junk DNA’ on SoundCloud

Debut album Dream Soda due October 2nd via SO Recordings
UK Headline tour begins in December

…a festering and ferocious trip the Guardian
 “Fired up and fighting the good fight, Demob Happy are making it happen on their own terms.” NME
This Brighton bunch have established themselves as one of the UKs best new bands. DIY
“…this is a band at the end of their tether. Like a chained animal awaiting the opportune moment to break free.” Best Fit
“Monolithic and ferocious” The 405
“every time they release a record I have to hit play on it, nobody’s doing this kind of grunge like Demob Happy”  Phil Taggart, BBC Radio 1

Still catching their breath after taking the BBC Introducing stage by storm at Reading & Leeds, and as this week’s NME Radar Band Of The Week, Brighton’s Demob Happy have announced their new AA-side single, ‘Junk DNA’ / ‘Suffer You’.

Each taken from their anticipated debut album, Dream Soda, (due for release on October 2nd via SO Recordings), both tracks lock horns on a bold psychic journey through the back alleys of garage-rock. Born out of a ten-minute dirge freak-out, ‘Junk DNA’ features five different tempo changes, squeezing and contorting grand themes down into an intense grunge hymn. “Bands write break up albums where every song is about hating some bitch and bad memories, this is about me breaking up with hocus-pocus and suffering the consequences,” frontman Matt Marcantonio explains of the track’s lyrical intent.

Asserting their impulsive garage rock clatter across numerous single and EP releases through last year, Dream Soda serves a turbo charged collection of contrasts: tough and tender, melodic and malevolent, sweet and sour. “Dream soda is manipulation distilled into edible form. It’s mind control. Like a Haitian zombie potion that’s FDA approved. It comes along all polluted and nasty and messes up your head,” Marcantonio explains. “It was a shit joke first, then we realised what it meant and how it bled through the songs. It’s like a concept album without contrivance. It’s all Sci-fi and dystopian but with sexy shiny hooks to silver line the doom.

Birthed in the blackened Welsh winter of 2014, Dream Soda is the consequence of four young men isolating themselves from the perils of the outside world to embark upon a hypnotic and relentless two-month long jam. Stranded in a desolate cottage in the Carmarthenshire valley, the band worked on their own terms to craft a 12-track escape before heading to Electric Zoo studios to lay the tracks to tape. It was produced and recorded by the band and their long-time studio aide Christoph Skirl, mixed by Anthony Theaker of Pulled Apart By Horses acclaim, and mastered by John Davis (Led Zeppelin, Primal Scream, Royal Blood).

After winning the Guardian’s Single Of The Week with their debut track ‘Succubus’ in late 2014, Demob Happy started their year dubbed a band “readying a 2015 dominance” by DIY Magazine, selling out headline shows at Brighton’s The Haunt and London’s Lexington and packing out gigs across this year’s Great Escape and Reading & Leeds festivals. Recently the NME crowned the four piece their New Artist Of The Week with a lead Radar feature, aptly stating, “fired up and fighting the good fight, Demob Happy are making it happen on their own terms.

Following a recent stint through Europe supporting Death From Above 1979, Demob Happy will embark upon a UK headline tour through December on the dates below.

Album pre-order:

Dream Soda track listing & artwork:

    1. Haat De Stank
    2. Suffer You
    3. Succubus
    4. Junk DNA
    5. Man You’re Wrong
    6. Summer Cash In
    7. Wash It Down
    8. Young & Numb
    9. Dream Soda
    10. Summoner
    11. Underneath Your Tree
    12. Strange Things

UK Live Dates

11th – Electric Ballroom (w/ The Districts)
21st – The Corporation, Sheffield  (w/ The Wytches)

December (headline UK tour)
2nd – Bodega, Nottingham
3rd – Nation of Shopkeepers, Leeds
4th – Gullivers, Manchester
5th – Broadcast, Glasgow
7th – Start The Bus, Bristol
8th – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
9th – 100 Club, London
11th – The Haunt, Brighton

Buy tickets here:

Demob Happy are: Matt Marcantonio (lead vocals, bass), Mathew Renforth (guitar, backing vocals), Adam Godfrey (guitar, backing vocals) and Thomas Armstrong (drums and vocals).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.