City and Colour announce brand new album – out October 9th‏

July 21, 2015




The brand new single

Taken from the band’s new album
‘If I Should Go Before You’
Released October 9th on Dine Alone Records

“His music, often dreamy and introspective without being moody and bleak, and maintaining a unique edge, is the perfect score for a long drive or quiet afternoon.”

“…tells a story with a sincerity and fluency that is truly masterful.”BBC

 “…moving, melodramatic songs delivered with candor and confidence by Mr. Green in a sweet, soaring voice. An excellent guitarist, he’s equally adept in a sparse solo folk setting and out in front of powerhouse players…”The Wall Street Journal

“Green’s folk sound expands even more…laid-back drums prompt slide-guitar swells and Green’s easy falsetto.” Rolling Stone

‘If I Should Go Before You’, the new album from world-renowned singer, songwriter and performer City and Colour (aka Dallas Green), will be released on October 9 on Dine Alone Records. In advance of the release, Zane Lowe recently premiered the lead track, ‘Woman’, on Beats 1. The lyric video can be seen HERE and purchased on iTunes HERE.

Recorded at Nashville, Tennessee’s Blackbird Studios, ‘If I Should Go Before You’ was produced by Green with additional production and engineering by Karl “Horse” Bareham. Unique to this project, the studio players on ‘If I Should Go Before You’ are made up of Green’s trusted touring band: Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs, Dead Weather) on bass, Dante Schwebel (Spanish Gold, Dan Auerbach) on guitar, Doug MacGregor (Constantines) on drums and Matt Kelly on pedal steel guitar and keys.

Of the album and recording process, Dallas comments, “They inspired me to want to create new music, just to create it with them – I don’t think I wrote these songs for the band, per se, but I certainly wrote them because of the band.” He goes on to add, “Anybody who has seen us play will understand that this is the best representation of what we do live that we have ever recorded. I was so excited about being able to make and record an album with these guys that it just flowed. I felt so confident about their abilities to make all of my ideas come true.”

‘If I Should Go Before You’ is Green’s fifth release as City and Colour and follows 2013’s ‘The Hurry and The Harm’, which received widespread critical and commercial praise. The album debuted at #1 on Canada’s Top 200 Chart, #4 in Australia, #16 in the U.S., and #32 in the U.K. – all career highs.

Most recently, in 2014, Green collaborated with international superstar Alecia Moore (aka P!nk) on a new project, entitled you+me. The duo’s acclaimed debut, ‘rose ave.’ debuted at #4 on the U.S. Top 200 Chart, #1 in Canada, #2 in Australia and #6 in Germany. Of the music, The Huffington Post praised, “While such prominent voices rarely mix too seamlessly, Green and Moore were destined to harmonize together,” while Entertainment Weekly declared, “The harmonies on the album are absolutely beautiful.” 

The new album will be available for pre-order from this Friday, July 24th. Those who pre-order via iTunes will receive an immediate download of ‘Woman’. A fan pre-order will also be available the same day as of 2:00PM at featuring limited edition colored vinyl along with other unique items. For those that prefer to shop at record stores, a vinyl pre-order will be available in September, including a bonus 12” that fans will receive instantly upon order. Additional details to be announced.


1. Woman
2. Northern Blues
3. Mizzy C
4. If I Should Go Before You
5. Killing Time
6. Wasted Love
7. Runaway
8. Lover Come Back
9. Map Of The World
10. Friends
11. Blood


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.