mewithoutYou stream new track ‘D-Minor’ from forthcoming album ‘Pale Horses’ (Big Scary Monsters)‏

June 2, 2015



mewithoutYou stream new song ‘D-Minor’:

Taken from forthcoming album ‘Pale Horses’, set for UK release 24th July
(Big Scary Monsters)


mewithoutYou are now streaming another track from their LP Pale Horses – the evocative ‘D-Minor’ can be heard here.  Pale Horses was produced by Will Yip (Title Fight, Tigers Jaw, Circa Survive), and the sixth LP from the legendary Philadelphia band arrives in the UK on 24th July via Big Scary Monsters, complete with cover art by Russian illustrator Vasily Kafanov.  “Pale Horses marks somewhat of a stylistic return to the lush, intricate punk of [earlier mewithoutYou albums] Catch For Us The Foxes and Brother, Sister, with rewards that feel lived in, loved in,” said NPR of the forthcoming record. They continue, “Here’s the propulsive yet subdued ‘D-Minor,’ which gets tangled up in Aaron Weiss’ oblique, half-spoken/half-sung lyrics and arrangements that dance and rage.”
Pale Horses is a carefully focused and personal album that spans mewithoutYou’s impressive career. From the frightened intensity of Catch Us For the Foxes and [A -> B] Life to the subdued and urgent Ten Stories, the band has truly created an album in Pale Horses that compliments and expands on their incredible 15 year legacy.  The masterful production of Will Yip transforms the band’s transcendental musings into a widescreen experience. Drums and bass lines quake with the faults of the earth, as an army of guitars and multi-instrumental nuances ring in the paranoia, mass hysteria and peaceful exaltation. The result is a stunning collage—fitfully disturbing, steadily bizarre, uniquely celebratory—undoubtedly the grandest musical adventure yet conceived within mewithoutYou’s expanding tapestry.
mewithoutYou will embark on a full US tour in June with support from Foxing, Lithuania and Field Mouse. The past year has seen the band on the road on their highly anticipated Catch Us For the Foxes 10 Year Anniversary tour alongside Appleseed Cast, Hop Along, and The World Is a Beautiful Place, as well as touring alongside Dr. Dog this spring. The band also released their East Enders Wives Maxi Single 12” on 2014’s Black Friday Record Store Day, featuring the track ‘East Enders Wives’ from Ten Stories alongside remixes and alternate versions.
‘Pale Horses’ Tracklist:
01) Pale Horse
02) Watermelon Ascot
03) D-Minor [Soundcloud]
04) Mexican War Streets
05) Red Cow [Soundcloud]
06) Dorothy
07) Blue Hen
08) Lilac Queen
09) Magic Lantern Days
10) Birnam Wood
11) Rainbow Signs

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.