Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

BOHICA Release ‘Keep Me Awake’ Single (out now via Get Into It Records)‏

May 13, 2015


Introducing: BOHICA

‘Keep Me Awake’ Cassette Tape Released 20th May Via Get Into It Records

Stream A+B Side of Single In Full

“Bohica are releasing music way beyond their years.” – Punktastic
“One of my favourite releases of the year so far. I cannot wait to see where this band goes.” – Now Then Magazine
“One to Watch 2015…a swift slice of raw and melancholic emo that certainly lives up to their potential.” – AlreadyHeard
“One of the most exciting new bands in the scene” – Lost iZine
“F*****g killer” – The Alternative [9/10]

Cheshire based emo quartet BOHICA have announced that they will release their new single ‘Keep Me Awake’ via Newcastle based independent label ‘Get Into It Records’ (Claw the Thin Ice, Fractions, Manuals) on 20th May 2015 as #4 of their cassette tape Singles Series.

You can preorder the cassette (very limited run) HERE

Drawing inspiration from the recent resurgence of 90s emo and combining it with the more visceral sounds of the early 90s grunge scene, the single will be accompanied by B-Side ‘Spun Out’ which the band are also streaming in full ahead of the release.

“Lyrically, ‘Keep Me Awake’ carries on the theme from our prior release ‘Wait Here’ and even our single release Dry” comments front man Matthew Awbery “We captured some pretty powerful content in that EP and as much as we feel this is a progression, it still felt relevant to write in that style again. We’ve always liked it when bands lyrics connect to a release from the past, so we’re pretty glad for three releases we have done that.”

Their ambient drenched guitar layers suggest tones from Title Fight’s ‘Floral Green’ but spliced with heavier, upbeat progressions evoke similarities to San-Francisco’s punk figureheads Jawbreaker. These foundations contribute to the highly contemplative subject matter that vocalists Aaron Hood and Matthew Awbery focus on, creating a compelling new breed of North-Western music that echoes their dreary surroundings. With boredom and frustration mirrored in their songwriting and lyrics it makes their music a perfect swansong for a generation living in the same grey circumstances all across modern England.

Their debut EP ‘Wait Here’ was released last October and saw Already Heardnaming them as Ones to Watch for 2015. The record laid the raw groundwork for their new material, as evidenced on title track ‘Wait Here’ and the fuzzy, guitar-driven ‘It’s All You’ which ultimately lead to the maturity in sound that is apparent on this May’s release.

‘Keep Me Awake’ is released 20th May via Get Into It Records

Track list:

1. Keep Me Awake
2. Spun Out

Bohica are:

Matthew Awbery – Guitar/Vocals
Aaron Hood – Bass/Vocals
Jake Hardie – Guitar
Elliot Bird – Drums


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.