The Montecristos Announce UK tour

April 22, 2015


Debut album out soon on Easy Action Records

The Montecristos are reinventing the shimmer and the throb, the tingle of illicit pleasure awakened by the sin-drenched echo of 1950’s guitars. The Montecristos are the midnight soundtrack for Jayne Mansfield; hips swaying like a storm at sea knocking at the Green Door of all your rock ‘n’ roll dreams.

At the helm is Neal X – former guitarist of million-selling, futuristic glam-rock potentates, Sigue Sigue Sputnik and long-term sideman of electro-burlesque starman Marc Almond (who appears on the album as special guest vocals on a cover of Brand New Cadillac).

Once renowned for the biggest quiff in London, Neal has always stayed true to the seamy essence of the originators: “I’m still totally head over leopard-print high heels in love with Rock ‘n’ Roll. I wanted to form a band that took the energy and spirit of Little Richard in ‘The Girl Can’t Help It’ and make it look and sound totally contemporary for the 21st Century. Glammy, trashy, classy and sexy Rock ‘n’ Roll – driven by my fist sized overactive adrenal gland.

Indefatigable in his pursuit, Neal has gathered about him a glamorous and musically astute coterie of players: Ice Queen Emma Goss, a mean, slapping Double Bass virtuoso who never loses her cool or class when the fever rises. Luscious Gemma B whose trumpet playing rips the rafters off the joint. Sultry Sophie Freeman who uses her saxophone as a torch to the flame of rock ‘n’ roll. Exotic Orlando La Rose, a blast of pleasure from beyond midnight, on baritone sax. Dexterous, debonair drummer and percussionist extraordinaire Hugh Wilkinson who effortlessly evinces rhythm’s primal thrall. The album is produced by Kenny Jones and Neal X and features a new version of Sigue Sigue Sputnik’s hit “Love Missile F1-11.

The last two years have seen The Montecristos on a stealth mission, gathering speed, poised to strike. Having made their debut in Andrés Dussan’s 2014 movie ‘Down Dog’ they commenced gigging in the UK and Spain to a rapturous response. Sidestepping a record industry that has purged rock ‘n’ roll from their books, The Montecristos launched a Kickstarter campaign to raise £5,000 to make their album. They raised almost double faster than the roll of a dice.

Get ready, with ‘Born To Rock ‘n’ Roll’ released in April the smoulder is back!

Tracklisting: Atlantic Surf / Born To Rock N Roll / Hotel Pelirocco / Jayne Mansfield / Brand New Cadillac / Badfinger Twang / Good Lovin’ / Love Missile F1-11 / Dirty / A Little Bitty Bit Of Your Sweet Love / Pussywhipper / Dirty Little Lowlife / #selfie / I’m Going Home

Tour Dates – The Montecristos

25 April – Manchester Bridgewater Hall

30 April – Basingstoke Anvil

1 May – London Shepherds Bush Empire

Tour Dates – Marc Almond – The Velvet Trail Tour / With Neal X

23 April – Bristol Colston Hall
24 April – Leeds Town Hall
25 April – Manchester Bridgewater Hall
27 April – Edinburgh Queens Hall
28 April – Gateshead Sage
30 April – Basingstoke Anvil
1 May – London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.