Prurient reveals new song ‘Greenpoint’ from 90 minute double album Frozen Niagara Falls, available May 18th via Profound Lore‏

April 22, 2015
Becka Diamond

Becka Diamond


  NYC noise figurehead Prurient has premiered another new track from the forthcoming double album Frozen Niagara Falls. Easing in from a contemplative acoustic guitar passage, ‘Greenpoint’ works globules of animated noise around a sparse industrial framework, meshing volatile performance with rigid underpinnings and intimate narration in a manner that is abound in expressiveness, holding your attention during the full ten minutes.

This 16-song album is Prurient’s first full-length since 2011’s game changer Bermuda Drain and sees figurehead Dominick Fernow deliver his most ambitious and massive Prurient album to date.  A double-album clocking in at a near 90-minutes, Frozen Niagara Falls is set to define Fernow even more so as a master within all the genres the band tends to seep into.
  Throughout the years, Prurient has been known to constantly shapeshift into many noise-ridden mutations and incarnations, utilising massively layered walls of sound to grind down any audible obstacle. Consisting of harsh feedback, tortured vocals, meticulous sampling, machine-like industrial pounding, entrancing synth work, enticing beats, and waves of electronica, these sounds create an aura that treads the fine line of harsh noise extremity and atmospheric beauty. Frozen Niagara Falls encompasses familiar moments from Fernow’s hellish prior output, but channels them in a way that sets it apart from everything else that has surfaced so far. With its journey beginning in late 2013 and finally reaching completion on Valentine’s Day 2015, Frozen Niagara Falls could very well be recognised as the Prurient magnum opus.
  Throughout a massive repertoire that consists of full-lengths, EPs, splits, singles, limited cassette runs and 7” releases, etc., Prurient is one of the most important artists to define and reinvent the genre of noise music which in turn has made Fernow one of the premiere visionaries in the entire genre of experimental music. Look for the next chapter in Prurient’s story, Frozen Niagara Falls, on May 18th, 2015 and see Prurient play select live shows in May and June.
Prurient – live appearances:
April 25 & 260 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Hudson – 24 Hour Drone
May 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Output – Red Bull Music Academy Festival
Frozen Niagara Falls
Produced by: Arthur Rizk, Kris Lapke
Mastered by: Paul Corley
Cover photo by: Becka Diamond
Design by: Nikolay Saveliev
Additional art contributors: Matt Kenny, Adam Gordon, Adam Marnie
Track Listing:
1. Myth Of Building Bridges
2. Dragonflies To Sew You Up
3. A Sorrow With A Braid
4. Every Relationship Earthrise
5. Traditional Snowfall
6. Jester In Agony
7. Poinsettia Pills
8. Shoulders Of Summerstones
9. Wildflowers (Long Hair With Stocking Cap)
10. Greenpoint
11. Lives Torn Apart (NYC)
12. Frozen Niagara Falls (Portion One)
13. Cocaine Daughter
14. Falling Mask
15. Frozen Niagara Falls (Portion Two)
16. Christ Among The Broken Glass
 “Fernow wants to shake you up, unnerve you, make you understand just how fragile ‘beautiful’ music is…” – Pitchfork

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.