JENNY HVAL Reveals New Single ‘SABBATH’ – Taken From Album ‘Apocalypse, Girl’ Due June 8th via Sacred Bones

April 9, 2015
Jenny Berger Myhre

Jenny Berger Myhre





Jenny Hval has shared the second single ‘Sabbath’ from her forthcoming album ‘Apocalypse, girl’, which is due June 8th via Sacred Bones. Jenny is also set to play a series of UK dates this summer, including a Perfume Genius support slot in London on June 10th.

Speaking about the new track, Jenny went on to say ‘I think I’ve been writing this song since about 1986. Because when I was really young I had a dream that my vagina had braces. For a long time, it (‘Sabbath’) was a monologue with a heavy drum loop and I had no idea what it was or why. It was just a galloping urge to say something. And then the chorus appeared. It’s like a mother; it just wants you to be happy. I really wanted to create something soft & loving. And I think it’s really catchy. Which is also very mothering, a mother catches you.”

I watched the film Daisies (Czechoslovak New Wave CLASSIC), while we were recording the album, and now when I think of Sabbath I think of the two main characters in that film. Daisies is hyper surreal and an extraordinary mix of politics and desire”

“I open with saying I dream I’m a boy, but the song is very much about girls. Girls playing, dreaming, singing, transforming. Girls speaking to and for everyone”. 

For Norwegian artist Jenny Hval, language is central, always torn between the vulnerable, the explosive and total humiliation. This is immediately evident on Hval’s third studio album, Apocalypse, girlTold through transgressive pop music, Apocalypse, girl dreams of an old science fiction movie where gospel choirgirls are punks and run the world with autoerotic impulses. It’s a gentle hum from a doomsday cult, a soft desire for collective devotion, an ode to the close-up and magnified, unruly desires. It’s a hallucinatory narrative that exists somewhere between fiction and reality, a post-op fever dream, a colorful timelapse of death and rebirth, close-ups of impossible bodies. It’s a very intimate, very visual beast.

Jenny Hval’s Apocalypse, girl is out June 8th on Sacred Bones and available for pre-order now‘That Battle Is Over’ comes as an instant free download with all iTunes pre-orders. Jenny will be supporting Perfume Genius across North America and with a London show on June 10th at Queen Elizabeth Hall. She’ll then go on to tour across the UK with a series of dates throughout the summer.

Apocalypse, girl Tracklisting:

01. Kingsize
02. Take Care Of Yourself
03. That Battle Is Over
04. White Underground
05. Heaven
06. Why This_
07. Some Days
08. Sabbath
09. Angels and Anaemia
10. Holy Land

Jenny Hval Tour Dates:

4 – Sun. June 7 – Oslo, NO @ Black Box Teater – Apocalypse, girl expanded concerts
10 – London, UK @ Royal Festival Hall w/ Perfume Genius 
11 – Manchester, UK @ Gullivers 
12 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope & The Ruin
13 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach 
14 – London, UK @ Cafe Oto 
17 – Amsterdam, NL @ Muziekgebouw
18 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
19 – Paris, FR @ Espace B
20 – Cologne, DE @ Stadtgarten w/ Circuit de Yeux
22 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain w/ Circuit de Yeux
23 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel w/ Circuit de Yeux
24 – Copenhagen, DK @ Jazzhouse w/ Circuit de Yeux

Apocalypse, girl album art:

Jenny Hval links:
That Battle Is Over’ on soundcloud
Apocalypse, Girl pre-order

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.