FIST CITY return with new album, Everything Is A Mess, due 22nd June via Transgressive Records + UK live dates

April 10, 2015



Announce Everything Is A Mess,
Released 22nd June via Transgressive Records

UK Live Dates inc. The Great Escape + London show at The Islington

FIST CITY is excited to announce the release of its sophomore LP, Everything Is A Mess, on Transgressive Records. Recorded in October 2014 with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men, Hubble, Uniform) at Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio studio in Chicago, the album is set to hit the shelves on 22nd June. Listen to new track, ‘F*ck Cops’ below…

The band will also be in the UK next month, playing festival dates inc. The Great Escape plus a London show at The Islington…

Saturday, 16 May 2015 
- Brighton – The Great Escape (Tickets)
Monday, 18 May 2015 – London – Alberta Showcase at The Islington (Tickets)
Friday, 22 May 2015 – Liverpool – Liverpool Sound City Festival (Tickets)
Monday, 25 May 2015 – Leeds – Gold Sounds Festival (Tickets)

Supercharged Southern Alberta quartet Fist City burst from basement studios onto the stage in 2009. The twin sibling duo of Kier and Brittany Griffiths — musical collaborators from the womb to the tomb — found ideal foils in frenetic guitarist/songwriter Evan Van Reekum and powerhouse drummer Ryan Grieve. A solid string of releases from labels such as L.A.’s Dead Beat, Victoria’s La Ti Da, and Transgressive have been coupled with tours at home and abroad, glowing reviews, recording with Don Pyle, a Nardwuar interview, and other thrills.

2014 marked a transitional year, including personal changes among the band members, the reissue of their debut LP It’s 1983, Grow Up! from Transgressive Records (originally issued by L.A.’s Black Tent Press in 2012) and the recording of Fist City’s sophomore salvo Everything Is A Mess. The new album finds them primed to take the future by storm.

Everything Is A Mess seizes onto the group’s influences, both musical (The Wipers, Sonic Youth, the Flying Nun roster) and spiritual (John Waters and Divine), then sends them into overdrive. Guitars chime like bells or shred like buzzsaws, while the rhythms hit harder than ever before. Lyrics are based on the band’s immediate environments in Lethbridge and Calgary, Alberta with gut-punching reactions to murderers, cops, bigots, Rob Ford, and unrequited love. From life in a small town scene to facing the consequences of violent acts, or even the experience of sleeping in the back of a speeding van, these songs paint a vivid portrait from the minds of artists and outcasts set loose on the world.
Fist City are:
Kier Griffiths – Vox/guitar
Brittany Griffiths – Bass
Evan Van Reekum – Guitar
Ryan Grieve – Drums
1 Intro
2 Fuck Cops
3 Let’s Rip
4 Hey Little Sister
5 Bad Trip
6 Interlude I
7 Shotgun
8 Surf’s Up
9 Interlude II
10 Interlude III
11 Rats
12 The Smell
13 End of the Good Times
14 Losers Never Die
15 Interlude IV
16 The Mess
17 Interlude V


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.