Desaparecidos share new ‘City on the Hill’ video- first album in 13 years released June 22nd via Epitaph‏

April 17, 2015


New Album Payola Out June 22nd on Epitaph

 Desaparecidos have unveiled their video for ‘City on the Hill‘ – watch now on YouTube. The band’s second album ever and first in 13 years, Payola, is out June 22 on Epitaph.

After an incredible performance at Coachella weekend one, Desaparecidos played a SOLD OUT show at The Roxy in Los Angeles last night with Joyce Manor and Touché Amoré as support. Then on April 15, the band will join Brand New and Built to Spill for another SOLD OUT show at The Shrine in LA. Capping off the week of events is the second Coachella performance for Desaparecidos at festival weekend two.

Formed in 2001 in Omaha, Nebraska, Desaparecidos released one album, Read Music / Speak Spanish in 2002 on Saddle Creek Records. Though the band never “broke up”, they did part ways for several years as members Conor Oberst (vocals, guitar), Denver Dalley (guitar), Ian McElroy (keyboards), Landon Hedges (bass / vocals), and Matt Baum (drums) went on to pursue separate ambitions, including Conor Oberst‘s career with the band Bright Eyes.

Payola is the follow-up album to the first and only Desaparecidos album, Read Music / Speak Spanish. Influenced by ’70s/’80s punk & hardcore like T.S.O.L. and Cro-Mags; early ’80s power-pop the Vapors and Tommy Tutone, Payola was co-produced with Mike Mogis (First Aid Kit, Saintseneca, and ‘The Fault in our Stars’ Score From the Motion Picture with Nate Walcott); and was recorded in several batches over the past few years. On Payola, the band consciously tackled a wide range of political issues at a much broader scale. It has a greater degree of focus and musicality than the first release. Payola is more raw, louder, and angrier. In addition to the 6 previously released tracks, the album also includes 8 new tracks from the band.

A band that never fully came into fruition is finally getting their due with their sophomore release only 13 short years later. Desaparecidos are scheduled to play show dates this year with a full itinerary below.

Digital pre-orders for Payola are available at iTunes: with CDs and vinyl at Kings Road Merch.

Payola Track List:

01. The Left is Right
02. The Underground Man
03. City on the Hill (ft. Tim Kasher)
04. Golden Parachutes (ft. Laura Jane Grace)
05. Radicalized
06. MariKKKopa
07. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
08. Ralphy’s Cut
09. Backsell
10. Slacktivist (ft. So So Glos)
11. Search the Searches
12. 10 Steps Behind
13. Von Maur Massacre
14. Anonymous

Desaparecidos Show Dates

Apr 19 Coachella – Indio, CA (SOLD OUT)
Jul 17 Louisville, KY – Forecastle Festival
Jul 31 – Aug 2 Montreal, QC – Osheaga Music and Arts Festival
Aug 8-9 Atlanta, GA – The Wrecking Ball festival

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.