Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Brooklyn-based Portable Sunsets announces new album Bless

March 1, 2015

imageBrooklyn based Peter Segerstrom prepped a new album, entitled ‘Bless’. It’s his second full length as Portable Sunsets – first LP ‘Mercy’ came out in 2012 on Magical Properties, Deadelus’ label. Now, right after his Rental EP (Atomnation, 2014), ‘Bless’ is scheduled to release March 17th this year. Portable Sunsets is a man with a history. As a MAX/MSP nerd he went to teach at Steim Amsterdam (an independent Dutch electronic music centre and nexus for live an innovative performance of electronic music) and helped set up the musical accompaniment for an art installation at festival Némo in Paris, amongst many other projects.

New album ‘Bless’ is an 11-track record produced in a NYC winter. Floating somewhere between crystal sharp warehouse techno and ancient blurry faded love songs, Portable Sunsets album could be a technological vision quest sound track. Basically, he makes ambient music with club-ready drums on top. He has seemingly soaked up the sunset hip-hop vibes of his birth town (California) and combined that aesthetic with an European techno vibe or even more, the “lo-fi tape experimental house” style represented by labels such as Opal Tapes and L.I.E.S.

Though very much representing a unique style and lots of music technology in his productions, Peter often uses his own voice in his productions – often programmed trough self created synths in MAX/MSP till the vocal texture becomes more a synth or pad or soundscape. Tracks like ‘Straylight’ and ‘rm –R’ are nice examples of this. ‘rm –R’ could easily be one of the soundtracks created for the ‘Her’ film by Arcade Fire. While tracks like ‘Pearl’, ‘Ledges’ and ‘Crosby’ are more up-tempo songs with a driving beat, diversity in the synth lines. As a whole, the album tells a story. The combination between ambient interludes, techno, pads and vocals this is a perfect record to dream away on at home, in a car or on your headphones.

Artist: Portable Sunsets
Title: ‘Bless’
Label: Atomnation
Release Date: March 17th
Format: CD | Digital Download   

1. Bless
2. Crosby
3. Ledges
4. rm-R
5. Straylight
6. Pearl
7. Islander (Version)
8. Conversion
9. Sisters
10. Cloakmode
11. Screen Presence

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.