Feature, News, Reviews

We Believe in Little L Records- New Release Announcement- Slim Charles ‘Small Improvements in Life and in Light’

January 4, 2015


We believe in Little L Records. We believe in their releases and we certainly approve of their latest announcement/addition/pre-order to their back catalog. We are delighted to announce their latest talent to their seemingly endless roster – Slim Charles.


Brooklyn based talented quartet Slim Charles have teamed up with our friends over at Little L Records to release their flawless debut album across Europe . The quartet consist of Alex Jarvis, Maggie Toth, Ben Mickelson, Dominic Green and together they create something that needs to be heard.

January 18th sees the European release of Slim Charles‘ debut album Small Improvements in Life and in Light, on cassette and CD via Little L Records. Slim Charles are a Brooklyn-based math pop/indie rock outfit of which has gained them moderate notoriety in the scene, with this debut album following the release of their 2011 EP Versus Fatso Jr.

The album will be available on a run of 25 cassettes which will be spray-painted white with blue and green mists to accompany the album artwork, along with CD and digital via the Little L bandcamp page.

Small Improvements in Life and in Light is a perfect mix of indie rock with mathy elements and an ambient touch, progressive yet delicate. Slim Charles create complex orchestrations which bounce with ease from a heavy + jazzy direction, to at times unbelievably fragile. But more importantly each track, each note, delectable vocals and those intelligent lyrics, all form something so personal. This 10 track melodic masterpiece is a must hear for any fans of TTNG, Owls, Q and Not U.

A fear is that this release has still yet to reach so many. The advantage of this fear is that still so many will discover this effort and not only become besotted by it but also be inspired. The release reaches out and provides such emotion in a boundary breaking deliverance. Slim Charles’ debut album is a quirky, refreshing and truly substantial release.

Track Listing:

1. Weave
2. Small Improvements
3. Strata
4. Cavalry
5. GPS
6. Wan Won One
7. The Quilted Star Apple Crumble
8. Bad Jazz
9. In Life and in Light
10. Strata (String Quartet)

Streaming in full here-

With only 2 weeks until this release is available from Little L Records be sure to get your limited edition cassette as soon as you can.




You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.