sound sleeper’s Debut EP ‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ Out NOW on Limited Fanfare Records

January 28, 2015


sound sleeper, Featuring Former Members of Sunday Driver (Doghouse) & MonstrO (Vagrant), Release Debut EP ‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ Today via Limited Fanfare Records; Album Streaming on Soundcloud


South Florida rockers sound sleeper released today their debut EP ‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ via Limited Fanfare Records (Denney and The Jets, The Ettes, Ex Norwegian, Astronautalis & Rickolus.). The band is comprised of former members of Sunday Driver (Doghouse) and MonstrO (Vagrant).

The lead single “Celsius Vs. Fahrenheit” premiered last Friday on New Noise Magazine and now the full album is streaming on Soundcloud.

‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ was produced by sound sleeper and Paul Trust (Say Anything, Diecast). The EP was mixed by C.J. Ridings (Big Jesus, Stallone) and mastered by Dan Coutant (Joshua, The Gaslight Anthem, Into It. Over It.).

‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ is available NOW on Vinyl (LTD to 339 Copies on 2 Colors) and on iTunes / Amazon.

In related news, Jose Pena has officially joined sound sleeper as their new drummer.

Updated Vinyl Pressing Info:

First Pressing is limited to 339, Numbered Copies on 150g Vinyl

2 copies on “Sky” Vinyl
3 copies on “Yellow Surprise” Vinyl
4 copies on “Smoked” Vinyl
4 copies on “Stinky Pink” Vinyl
7 copies on “Purp” Vinyl
7 copies on “Other” Vinyl
7 copies on “You Blues You Lose” Vinyl
8 copies on “Redish Purplish” Vinyl
8 copies on “Greens” Vinyl
8 copies on “Darkness” Vinyl
10 copies on “Orange Brown Pebbles” Vinyl
11 copies on “Clear & Sky” Vinyl
12 copies on “Grey-Green Mush” Vinyl
15 copies on “Bluish-Greenish” Vinyl
20 copies on “Purple Stuff” Vinyl
213 copies on Black Vinyl

sound sleeper cover art

Track Listing

1. Celsius vs. Fahrenheit

2. Let Me

3. The Prisoners Dilemma

4. Chinese Firedrill Underwater

5. Courtesy Wake Up Call

6. The Mermaid and The Man

sound sleeper is:

Alex Martinez – Vocals, Guitar

Charlie Suarez – Guitar, Vocals

Arnold Nese – Bass

Jose Pena- Drums

Upcoming shows:

February 28, 2015 – The Poor House (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)

w/The Holstered

21 +

May 1, 2015 – Dada – Boynton Beach, FL

About sound sleeper:

sound sleeper was birthed in 2011 in South Florida as the solo project of former Sunday Driver (Doghouse Records/Warner Music Group) frontman and guitarist Alex Martinez. After 10 years of extensive touring and recording, Sunday Driver dissolved, leading Martinez on a new path and a fresh approach to songwriting, as well as his live shows, “Coming from a guitar-heavy rock band, it was such an intimate and humbling experience to start play bare-bones acoustic shows — putting yourself out there without anyone else to hide your mistakes.” said Martinez.

Alex never stopped writing post-dissolution, creating a batch of finely tuned tales of love, despair and deceit, all sung with his patented whispery delivery and non-standard tunings. After some early lineup changes, Alex locked in what was the core lineup of Sunday Driver — Charlie Suarez (Guitar, Vocals) who had just finished his vocal and guitar duties in MonstrO (Vagrant Records) along with bassist Arnold Nese.

The intial sessions for ‘A Perfect Sea For Drowning’ started in late 2012 in Nashville, TN with friends and some of the city’s finest studio players. After the live lineup of Martinez/Nese/Suarez was solidified, the trio recorded 2 new songs (“The Mermaid and The Man” and “The Prisoner’s Dilemma”) to tape with producer Paul Trust (Say Anything, Diecast) in his South Florida studio — along with Sunday Driver’s final drummer, Mark Annino.





You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.