Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Boston’s RYE PINES Debut “Atlantic Ascent” via Stereogum -Announce “Dead Ocean” EP‏

January 22, 2015


0df04dbe-2003-43d7-a795-3b0185deb17cRye Pines Premiere “Atlantic Ascent” on Stereogum

Announce New EP “Dead Ocean,” Set For Release on February 17th via Bob Records

Rye Pines are excited to announce the upcoming release of Dead Ocean, the Boston based duo’s new EP set for release on February 17th via Bob Records (Krill, Boytoy, Gin War). The band, comprised of Edward Maguire (guitar/vocals) and Alex Page (drums), premiered the EP’s first single “Atlantic Ascent” on Stereogum, who noted:

“Clocking in at just a minute-and-a-half, “Atlantic Ascent” is over just as quickly as it begins. But Rye Pines do a lot with that time, constructing a guitar line that snakes around mechanical drumming with a salt-encrusted buoyancy, lifting Edward Maguire’s voice to gravelly new heights. “Oh, the northeast: grey gulls and the bitter breeze” the track begins, painting a vivid picture of dark skies and choppy waves.”

Dead Ocean is the follow up to last year’s full length debut A Portrait of Dissonance as a Young Man, an album that Stereogum called “a masterful debut” and local tastemakers Allston Pudding named #10 in their “Top 50 Albums of 2014”. Dead Ocean marks a change for Rye Pines though as the songs are the first to be written together as a duo and the results find the band sounding bigger than ever with a wavering diversity that hones in on their songs vivid imagery. The band will be playing shows throughout the country this Spring in support of the EP.

The band will celebrate their album release show on February 17th at The Middle East (Upstairs) in Cambridge, MA with support from Nice Guys, Zip-Tie Handcuffs, and Something Sneaky.


Edward Maguire, singer and guitarist of Rye Pines, moved to Boston in 2008.  He immediately started a band that was regularly playing shows and releasing music.  He became involved with the founding of StarLab studio in Somerville and focused on time based media/performance at MassArt.  By 2011, the band split up and Maguire was broke.  He dropped out of school, experienced close personal loss, and he himself spent some time in the hospital.  Music as an outlet for his personal experiences had been put on hold.  By happenstance, Maguire met Alex Page (drummer) at a bar.  Page had moved to Boston from Vermont in 2009 to live with old friends and occupy their basement.  Page grew up playing in various punk bands, but hadn’t yet started a project since living in Boston. After a few attempts, Page was able to convince Maguire that they should play music together.  Their first album, “A Portrait of Dissonance as a Young Man”, touches on subjects of death, substance abuse, and self-reflection.  The album was put together over multiple months, both at friend’s home studios and in their own practice space.  These songs document the experiences that Maguire went through leading up to the formation of Rye Pines.

Their new EP, “Dead Ocean”, features 6 new songs that find the band, for the first time, writing together from the ground up.  The result is the band’s strongest work yet.  “Dead Ocean” secures Rye Pines as being unique with a sound all of their own.  Maguire’s voice shifts between a calming and unbothered tone to a desperate and high ranged yell that demands the listener get their heart rate to the same pace that Maguire sings.  The guitar is as diverse as the vocals: shifting from quiet and pretty plucking to aggressive and pummeling riffs soaked in feedback.  Drummer Alex Page is decisive and tasteful in how he decides to move these songs forward. Maguire and Page leave everything they have on stage.  The two most common thoughts of anyone who catches this duo live are “woah” and “that’s a lotta noise for two dudes.”  The band is looking forward to the release of “Dead Ocean” and playing in regions all over New England and beyond.
Dead Ocean is due out February 17th, 2015 via Bob Records on cassette and digital. Pre-orders are available HERE.


Dead Ocean tracklist:

1. Death
2. Limbo Shuffle
3. Atlantic Ascent
4. In The Wake
5. Drone Tone
6. Pessimist

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.