Leapling Share “Silent Stone” -‘ Vacant Page’ is due out February 10th, 2015 via Inflated/Exploding In Sound Records

December 9, 2014
Stephanie Griffin

Stephanie Griffin

Leapling premiere “Silent Stone” with Wondering Sound

Full Length Debut, Vacant Page, set for February 10th release via Inflated Records/Exploding In Sound

Leapling are sharing their new single “Silent Stone” with Wondering Sound today, noting the juxtaposition in the band’s dynamic noise pop “Dan Arnes’s voice is soft and tender, but the guitars that surround it are barbed and ominous — it’s like a single pink rose in the middle of a field of Venus flytraps”. “Silent Stone” is the second song to be taken from Leapling’s full length debut record, Vacant Page. Set for release on February 10th (pre-order here). Wondering Sound further stated, “the song is too complex and knotty and contradictory to allow for easy pigeonholing”.

Leapling recently premiered the album’s first single, “Crooked” via The AV Club. The eclectic sound of Leapling defies all preconceived notions of what indie rock can be, combining experimental elements of noise pop, hip-hop, krautrock, dream pop, and psych rock into their own swirling sound. “Crooked” received a great deal of praise from Stereogum, Wondering Sound, Indie Shuffle, Portals, Impose, and many others.

Leapling, the brainchild of Brooklyn-based songwriter Dan Arnes, juxtaposes moments of subtle beauty with harsh, guitar-driven noise to create a sound both brilliant and infectiously catchy. The band’s debut EP, Losing Face, released in early 2013 on Father/Daughter Records, established Leapling’s reputation as a force to be reckoned with in the world of experimental pop. Vacant Page finds the band picking up where they left off, casually moving forward with a newfound looseness and the continuing desire to push the envelope into unexplored realms. Joined by long-time members Yoni David (drums), R.J. Gordon (bass) and Joe Postiglione (guitar) for the first time on record, Vacant Page was tracked live with a clear sense of purpose and urgency. Arnes’ delicate vocals and stream-of-consciousness narratives come to life when combined with Postiglione’s serpentine licks, David’s loose percussion style and Gordon’s hypnotic bass lines. The seamless interplay between musicians is as indicative of the quartet’s bond as it is Arnes’ songwriting.

On Vacant Page, Leapling have created an album that unfolds through movements and vivid sonic flourishes, pacing itself with a delicate restraint and exploring the concept of improvement through shades of bleak optimism. In a world of digital singles and the constant push for new content, Leapling play things patient, slowly unveiling the big picture throughout their debut, an album that truly demands to be heard in full. Their dynamic sound expands and shifts in unexpected directions throughout the record’s 40+ minutes, the product of a wide array of influences ranging from Broadcast and Portishead to J Dilla and The Neptunes. Nothing is off limit and things may never be the same.

Vacant Page is due out February 10th, 2015 via Inflated/Exploding In Sound Records on vinyl and digital. Pre-orders are available HERE.

Vacant Page tracklist:

1. Negative Space
2. Flesh Meadows
3. N.E.R.V.E
4. Going Nowhere
5. Crooked
6. Retrograde
7. Silent Stone
8. Hung Out To Dry
9. Slip Slidin’ Away
10. In Due Time

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.