Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Liverpool’s Filter Distortion to Release Debut Album ‘Transition’‏

November 27, 2014


Filter Distortion
12 January 2015

Filter Distortion, a four piece electro band from Liverpool, have finally emerged from a self-imposed year of confinement in a windowless room.  The band set about producing their finest work yet, and have certainly achieved their aim with debut album ‘Transmission’.  Recorded using just 3 microphones, the band wrote and produced all the album’s tracks before mastering with engineer and producer Daniel Woodward at Liverpool’s Whitewood Recording Studio.

According to Liverpool’s Bido Lito Magazine, “Transition swims in front of you like a neon-lit nighttime drive through the streets of Vice City with Depeche Mode blaring out of the stereo”.

‘Transition’ certainly has a distinct eighties electro feel but the band have given that sound a modern twist, with driving guitars and live drums, to create something incredibly powerful.

The band are attracting an ever-increasing following, thanks in part to having their music featured on UK televstion (Channel 4 and LFC TV as well as BBC 6 Music and international radio. Two tracks from the album ‘Cameras in the Dark’ and ‘Neon Nights’ have both been selected as BBC 6 Music’s Tom Robinson’s Fresh on the Net Fresh Faves.

The album is available as a digital download and limited edition vinyl from selected outlets including Dig Vinyl, Probe Records, Piccadilly Records and mail order via the band’s website.

“The album does not contain any fillers. Each song could be a single!”
Chris Currie, Wirral Radio

“Neon Nights showcases a great vocal range that’s almost Dave Gahan in places.”
Shell Zenner, Amazing Radio

“If you think you need to go to 80’s bands milking their reunions for all they are worth to hear quality electronic sound, I have news for you. Filter Distortion would blow half of them off stage.”
Roxy Gillespie, Liverpool Noise

Headline show at Xmas Evol, The Magnet, Liverpool with support from Jenn (Soft Toy Emergency)
Social Links:

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply brett November 27, 2014 at 3:35 pm


    I was wondering if you would like to receive digital promos from Cardinal Fuzz?

    Cardinal Fuzz is an independent UK based record label that specialises in psych/garage/krautrock/spacerock/drone and much more.

    We have released albums by: The Heads, Mugstar, The Janitors, Cult Of Dom Keller, Dead Sea Apes, Lantern, The Cosmic Dead, Hills, Shine Brothers, Kikagaku Moyo, Black Bombaim, Anthroprophh, Lumerians, The Myrrors, Old Testament, Shine Brothers, You’re Smiling Now But We’ll All Turn Into Demons, The Oscillation and loads more.

    We have releases by Nudity, Demian Costellanos (The Oscillation), Big Naturals, Cathode Ray Eyes (Cult Of Dom Keller) and follow up releases by Anthroprophh, You’re Smiling Now But We’ll All Turn Into Demons, Dead Sea Apes, The Janitors and much, much more slated for release in 2015.

    Drop me a line if you would like to be added to the mail out at

    The mail out will simply be a short description and a link to a Dropbox address. The file will contain the featured album and accompanying One Sheet.

    We are also open to connecting you with the artists for exclusive interviews and streams etc.



    Cardinal Fuzz

    (Est 2012 Honley – Stalybridge)

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.