Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News

Hayden Calnin ‘Oh, Hunter’ – EP Feature

November 11, 2014


Hayden Calnin

Oh, Hunter – EP

Impact Date – 1st December 2014

“A masterfully produced soundtrack which showcases its expansiveness while completely retaining its sense of intimacy”- Earmilk


“From time to time, I listen to music which leaves me awestruck. Young singer/songwriter Hayden Calnin’s single has had that exact effect on me.”- Indie Shuffle


Hayden Calnin is Australia’s answer to Bon Iver. The indie folk artist’s striking falsetto is reminiscent of that of Ben Howard’s but unlike the latter; Calnin uses a lower, huskier range frequently, displaying his vast vocal range. He knows exactly how to combine the atmospheric ambience with a touch of honest folk and carried out by a hypnotic electronic beat.

Having already had a few tracks of his synced to American TV Shows such as the latest season of Suits, the word is starting to spread about Hayden outside of Australia. It seems he is now finally ready to release his much anticipated forthcoming Oh, Hunter – EP.

 The astonishing six-track EP boasts a flawless track-to-track resume.

Comatose is the first track off Oh, Hunter is both melodically and as Calnin is without a backing band, it still manages to captivate emotions. A soft piano introduces the song, along with haunting chords and a twinkling organ beat, which all fits in perfectly with the jarring melody. Calnin’s contrasting vocal style blends in beautifully with a choir of various harmonies and constant piano and guitar loops, creating for a gorgeous sound that can’t be topped.

The new EP has a dark, cold feel to it yet it still manages to embrace you fully. The final bonus track Shutters sees Calnin strip bare and show his true emotion in a reworked acoustic track. Oh, Hunter – EP will not have you falling asleep. This collective will have you immersed into the heavenly world of vocal prowess and captivating build-ups that are begging to be the backdrop to inspirational moments, and it will be available on iTunes on Monday 1st December.

Listen to this lustful masterpiece streaming in full below-

Track Listing:

1. Comatose

2. Coward

3. I Corrupt

4. Not Good For Me

5. Forever A Traveller

6. Shutters (Acoustic Rework –Bonus Track)





You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.