Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

The Rentals (ex-Weezer / The Black Keys) new album out September 21st

September 9, 2014


THE RENTALS release LOST IN ALPHAVILLE on September 21st in the UK – features members of The Black Keys, Lucius, Ozma and The Section Quartet

The Rentals have signed to Polyvinyl Records to release their first full-length album in fifteen years, Lost In Alphaville, on August 25th (US) and September 21st (UK)

The album, which was recorded in Los Angeles, Nashville and New York City, features Matt Sharp (ex-weezer), Jess Wolfe & Holly Laessig (Lucius), Ryen Slegr (Ozma), Lauren Chipman (The Section Quartet) and Patrick Carney (The Black Keys). The album is produced by Matt Sharp & The Rentals and has been mixed by D. Sardy (LCD Soundsystem, Jay-Z.)

Founded in 1995 by then weezer bassist Matt Sharp, The Rentals released their debut album, Return Of The Rentals, on Maverick Records and reached #6 on Billboard’s Modern Rock Chart with “Friends Of P.” The single’s stark, Eastern Bloc style, paired with its black and white video, embodied the group’s originality and independent spirit and became an instant MTV favorite – watch HERE.

The album’s unique approach of layering vintage synthesizers, distorted guitars, violins, violas and primal drums all saturated around male-female vocals singing simple pop melodies left its fingerprints all over the future of independent music.

Return Of The Rentals started a creative philosophy for the group of working as a “musical collective” with a shape-shifting, revolving door of significant collaborators. This philosophy purposefully reinforces the literal definition behind the group’s name “The Rentals.” And in 1999, they continued that tradition with Seven More Minutes. The ambitious sophomore effort was recorded in London, England and featured a diverse collection of European artists that included many notable figures of Brit-Pop‘s royalty. After the promotional cycle for the album came to a close, the group was put on an indefinite hiatus.

Lost In Alphaville, is the group’s third proper full-length studio album and will feature Matt (Vocals, Bass, Synthesizers), Jess & Holly (Vocals), Ryen (Guitar), Lauren (Viola, Piano) and Patrick (Drums) throughout each of the album’s 10 tracks. This latest return of The Rentals proves to be equally ambitious and all the more bold in sound and scope.

Artist Websites:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.