RESTORATIONS announce ‘LP3’ & release new music video

September 4, 2014



‘Separate Songs’ Music Video released


After a month of teasing, Philadelphia’s Restorations is pleased to announce the release of their highly anticipated third full-length, LP3, on October 27 in the UK. Pre-orders for the groundbreaking album are currently available via Banquet Records. The Mitchell Wojcik-directed video for the first new material from the band in over a year, ‘Separate Songs,’ was premiered on NPR Music and is now viewable on YouTube.

The choice for the first single off LP3 was a simple one. Pensive yet powerful, ‘Separate Songs’ comes in with an understated lyrics-first approach that provides a spectrum broad enough for both the swaying drunk at a show and the introspective headphone commuter.

Forever the type of musicians to ignore public perception and expectation in lieu of artistic integrity and intrigue, Restorations will bring two very different bands with them on separate legs of their US headlining tour. First there’s Self Defense Family, a well respected and critically lauded band with a penchant for strangely intense and emotionally heavy post-punk. Then comes Restorations’ European and Australian tour buds and new SideOneDummy label mates, The Smith Street Band. All three will make appearances at Gainesville, FL’s long-standing music festival, The Fest.

After two successful full-lengths, a number of 7’’s and special releases, Restorations made a solid choice in returning to Miner Street Studio to work with longtime friend and collaborator Jonathan Low on LP3. Responsible for not only all of Restorations past discography, Low has also recently had a hand in the massive success of records from The National, The War On Drugs, Modern Baseball, The Menzingers, and more. The trust Low and the band has been building over the years is absolute these days and the result is a record that fills a room even when coming out of laptop speakers.

LP3 is a marriage of big sounds and meaty songwriting. Clever, sure, but strong is a better description. Pummeling and rumbling without an ounce of goonishness. Smart people going hard, Restorations has taken every potential cliché and tossed them out the window to create the most memorable and standout record of their career to date.

LP3 Tracklisting:
1. Wales
2. Seperate Songs
3. Misprint
4. Tiny Prayers
5. All My Home
6. Most Likely A Spy
7. No Castle
8. The Future
9. It’s Not

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.