Boston band Krill stream new track ahead of UK release through new label Steak Club‏

September 16, 2014


Debut UK release Lucky Leaves due November 17th via Steak Club/Blood and Biscuits

Listen to UK bonus track ‘Peanut Butter

Pre-order now

Recently formed London label Steak Club are proud to announce their first release – Lucky Leaves from Boston indie-rock chameleons Krill.

Originally self-released in North America in 2013, Lucky Leaves attracted the attention of the likes of Pitchfork and Stereogum, with its wry lyrical introspections and off-kilter yet precise nuances. The album will be released in conjunction with Blood and Biscuits, on two different limited edition vinyl on November 17th and includes the brand new UK bonus track ‘Peanut Butter’, which premiered today on

The album was recorded live in just 10 hours at Gravesend Recordings, in Brooklyn’s Silent Barn with Julian Fader and Carlos Hernandez of New York band Ava Luna. Lucky Leaves marks a precise time in the bands career, as an uninhibited collection of parables about self-loathing and suffering (from ‘My Boy’: “If I find myself blaming myself, I’ve got no one to blame but myself”). Droll, disparaging and consistently idiosyncratic, lyrically Lucky Leaves is one of the most distinctive releases of the year. Despite their assured complexity, there’s a sense that the songs could unravel at any moment.

Krill are Jonah Furman (bass, vocals), Aaron Ratoff (guitar), Ian Becker (drums). Having already played with the likes of Deerhoof, Speedy Ortiz, Big Ups, The Thermals and more in the US, Krill are plotting their debut UK shows for early 2015.

Lucky Leaves will be released on frosted clear vinyl and blue & purple ‘splatter’ vinyl on November 17th and is available to pre-order now. The album is available to download now from the Steak Club Bandcamp.

K R I L L  F O R E V E R

Lucky Leaves tracklisting:

  1. Theme From Krill
  2. Never A Joke
  3. Sick Dogs (For Ian)
  4. Purity Of Heart
  5. This Morning
  6. My Boy
  7. Oppressor
  8. Street Level
  9. Tetherball
  10. Infinite Power
  11. Theme From Krill (Reprise)
  12. Peanut Butter (UK bonus track)

Praise for Krill:

Krill’s songs will reach anyone living in a state of hopelessness and make them feel like conquering the world. Here’s hoping these guys doStereogum

Furman yanks on every line’s final word with a manic drawl that suggests a man sprinting between walls to bash his head against themPitchfork

stuffed with the kind of yelpy, jangly, nasal rawk anthems that keep college radio stations permanently turntNoisey

Krill’s rankled jangle recalls Modest Mouse or Built to Spill, but with Doug Martsch being treated for rabies: excitable and spastic, but with half a mind still able to focusConsequence Of Sound

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.