AVATARIUM – to release ‘All I Want’ EP

September 19, 2014


Hailing from Stockholm, gloomy metal outfit AVATARIUM was founded in late 2012. Following the success of their eponymous debut, released November 1st 2013 and the first ever single ‘Moonhorse’, released September 20th of the same year,AVATARIUM have just announced the release of their new EP ‘All I Want’. The vinyl/digital only EP will be out November 17th via Nuclear Blast.

Mid 2013, just eight months into the bands’ history, the word was spreading rapidly about their special blend of heavy adventurous music: Influenced by the likes ofJETHRO TULLBLUE ÖYSTER CULTBLACK SABBATHRAINBOW, adding the peaks of pop and 60’s vibes, AVATARIUM deliver some delicate moments of beauty and frailness rarely to be found in a band these days.

It all began in winter 2012, when Leif Edling (ex-CANDLEMASS) needed help to demo a couple of songs he was working on, and Marcus Jidell (ex-EVERGREY) offered to help. Weeks turned into months and a few songs became the first full length album »Avatarium«, mixed by well-known Swedish engineer Ronny Lahti.

Enter 2014, AVATARIUM feel the need to break new grounds musical wise and after listening to some old vinyl records, the desire to get closer to this kind of material was born.
With a new demo track at hand, bassist Leif Edling was joined by guitarist Marcus Jidell to work on the song that would be called ‘All I Want’.

While the two musicians got deeper into exploring where they want to take the music ofAVATARIUM and how they can keep things interesting for themselves and for the fans, yet another song was created, and the idea to make a new EP was fully set.

The old spirit comes even more alive, with psychedelic percussionist Michael Blair, who has worked with Tom Waits and Lou Reed among others, guesting on ‘All I Want’.

Commented guitarist Marcus Jidell“He showed up at the studio with a big “bag of tricks” with metals, crashers, shakers and a lot of strange things which he made sound like if you throw in a punkrocker at Woodstock and feed him with psychedelic pills!” About the new songs, he adds: “We tried to keep things simple and spontaneous during the recordings, something I hope people will be able to hear. Also I think that Jennie-Ann Smith has reached new levels with the way she sings on both of the new songs!”

Track listing for ‘All I Want’ will be as follows:

Side A (45 RPM)
01. All I Want
02. Deep Well
Side B (33 RPM)
01. Pandora’s Egg (live)
02. Tides Of Telepathy (live)
03. Bird Of Prey (live)

The three live songs were recorded at the 2013 edition of renowned Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Netherlands, which was the second ever AVATARIUM show and the first one outside of Sweden.

You can pre-order ‘All I Want’ at the following links: |  |

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.