Johnny Marr Announces New Solo Album “Playland” To Release October 7th!‏

July 22, 2014




Johnny Marr has announced the release date for his second solo album “Playland,”which is set for release on October 7 via Warner Music Group, and available for pre-order now oniTunes and Amazon. Last year, the legendary guitarist for The Smiths enjoyed a monumental start to his solo career with an abundance of critical acclaim (including the honor of being named NME’s ‘Godlike Genius’) for his Top 10 debut solo album “The Messenger.”Meanwhile, his shows were celebrated for his ability to combine the best of his new material with select highlights from The Smiths, plus others from his extensive back catalog.

Johnny Marr’s upward trajectory continues unabated with the release of “Playland.” Work on the album commenced in London in spring 2014 as soon as the year of touring in support of ‘The Messenger’ came to a close. It finds Marr continuing the creative connection that was forged on ‘The Messenger’ with collaborator and co-producer Doviak, as well as the other musicians who performed on the album and accompanying tour.

As Johnny states,“When ‘The Messenger’ came out I kept on writing. I liked that the band had a momentum going on tour and a connection with the audience, and I thought that energy would be good to capture on the new record.”

Written around a common theme of “songs that move at the speed of life,” ‘Playland’ captures much of the spirit that made ‘The Messenger’ so memorable with energetic, post-punk songwriting complemented by Johnny Marr’s characteristic guitar style, thought-provoking lyrical ideas and poised vocal phrasing. “It’s important to sound like your environment and on this record that’s London and Manchester,” he adds. “The feeling of the cities and the people make it into the music.”

The title “Playland” is inspired by Homo Ludens, a 1938 book by the highly influential Dutch cultural theorist Johan Huizinga, which explores the concept of play as a precursor and principal element of cultural development.

One of Marr’s favorite performances of 2014 to date came when he performed at the premiere of The Amazing Spider-Man 2 in New York City. His contributions to the film’s soundtrack (scored by Hans Zimmer) included a songwriting collaboration with Pharrell Williams, while he also performed the closing credits theme song “It’s On Again” with Alicia Keys andKendrick Lamar on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon.

Johnny toured extensively in support of ‘The Messenger’ with highlights including three sold-out shows in Manchester; major London dates at The Roundhouse and the O2 Shepherd’sBush Empire; as well as festival appearances including GlastonburyReadingLeeds and T in the Park. His next UK headline tour includes his largest London solo headline show to date at the O2 Academy Brixton and also features a homecoming show at the O2 Apollo Manchester.

“Playland” track listing:

1.) Back In The Box

2.) Easy Money

3.) Dynamo

4.) Candidate

5.) 25 Hours

6.) The Trap

7.) Playland

8.) Speak Out Reach Out

9.) Boys Get Straight

10.) This Tension

11.) Little King

His current UK tour schedule runs as below:


13 – Lincoln, The Engine Shed

14 – Southend, Cliffs Pavilion

15 – Bexhill, De La Warr

17 – Wolverhampton, Civic Hall

18 – Cardiff, Great Hall

20 – O2 Academy Bournemouth

21 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange

23 – O2 Academy Brixton London

24 – Bath, Pavilion

25 – O2 Apollo Manchester

27 – O2 Academy Glasgow

28 – O2 Academy Newcastle

29 – O2 Academy Leeds

Visit Johnny Marr online:

Official Website  l   Facebook  l  Twitter

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.