Liam Betson (ex-Titus Andronicus) Shares “Pocket Knife” From Studio Debut‏

May 30, 2014


“The Cover of Hunter” LP due out July 22nd via Double Double Whammy Records. Album features guest appearances from members of Titus Andronicus, Julian Lynch, and more.
Double Double Whammy is excited to announce the release of Liam Betson’s studio debut, The Cover of Hunter, in stores everywhere on July 22nd. Following an extended stint playing guitar in Titus Andronicus, Betson returns with the first release under his own name, following a slew of stellar lo-fi releases under the Liam The Youngermoniker. The Cover of Hunter is Betson’s first batch of proper studio recordings and the results are evident from the first shimmering single, “Pocket Knife”. The FADERpremiered the track, calling Betson’s songwriting “smart and sturdy,” while Impose Magazine described the track stating, “a tightly plotted indie-pop poem with the proudest of jangly guitars accompanying Betson’s boyish and hopeful vocals”.

Since 2007 Liam Betson has been building somewhat of a cult persona, releasing music as “Liam the Younger” and drifting in and out of the public eye. Over the past two years he toured extensively, playing guitar in Titus Andronicus. After an amicable departure from the band last summer, Betson returns with a new full length record of his own.

The Cover of Hunter comes to us as Betsonʼs fourth full length LP, and debut studio effort, following three phenomenal lo-fi records released on New Jersey record label, Underwater Peoples. Produced by Kevin McMahon at Marcata Recording, The Cover of Hunter features friends, Ian Dykstra, Luka Usmiani, Ian Drennan, Alex Steinberg, Patrick Stickles and Julian Lynch. Dynamic, dark and lyrically rich, we believe The Cover of Hunter is Betsonʼs best record yet, drawing influence from Lou Reed, The Germs, “inverted fairy tales” and William Gaddis. The Cover of Hunter will be released July 22nd on Double Double Whammy, with tours to follow.

Pre-orders for Liam Betson’s The Cover of Hunter are now available at via Double Double Whammy’s webstore. (

The Cover Of Hunter tracklist:

1. I Can’t Tell If You’re Looking At Me
2. Pocket Knife
3. The Lace Collar
4. Featureless Interior
5. Tie My Hands
6. Cop Car
7. The Primordial Will
8. X
9. Made From Tin
10. Rapture in Heat

Words and music written by L.B. with due credit to the band for their unique contributions. Produced by Kevin McMahon at Marcata Recording between July 2012 and February 2013.

Liam Betson: Voice, guitar, chord organ
Ian Drennan: Synthesizer, piano, saxophone
Ian Dykstra: Drums
Julian Lynch: Clarinet
Kevin McMahon: Voice on Cop Car
Alex Steinberg: Guitar
Patrick Stickles: Guitar on X
Luka Usmiani: Bass guitar

Connect with Liam Betson online:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.