The Fruitful Earth release ‘Firebird’ video ahead of self titled EP – Out 2 June‏

May 14, 2014


The Fruitful Earth
Release The Fruitful Earth EP out June 2nd on Big Peach

You can see the video for Firebird here:

“Impresses right from the opening track. Those piano intros grab the listener every time” Mojo

“Jaunty piano inviting Elton John and Carole King comparisons” The Observer

 On June 2nd South London-based band The Fruitful Earth release The Fruitful Earth EP. Following on from their second longplayer ‘Rising Sun’, the EP features new tracks ‘Firebird’ and ‘Honey Bee’. The tracks were recorded inAlbury Court Studios, Deptford, and produced by front-woman Sarah Blair in collaboration with Andrew J Jones, whose production CV includes fellow local heroes Squeeze.

The EP merges the spirit of late 60/70s-style classic rock and singer songwriters with Sarah Blair’s endearingly esoteric songwriting and masterful piano chops. An enthralling and flamboyant listen, they channel the spirit of greats like Rickie Lee Jones, Judee Sill, Jackson Browne, Randy Newman and ‘Tumbleweed Connection’-era Elton John.

The dramatic and rock-laced ‘Firebird’ kicks-off proceedings with rousing Zeppelin-esque screams and the soulful ‘Sometimes You Just Don’t Know’ takes a reflective turn; while the punchy strutting ‘Honey Bee’ and ‘Live It How You Got To’ oozes rock n soul swagger.

Goldmiths graduate Sarah Blair originally specialised in classical composition and through her passion for other music (especially Bowie and The Stones) formed The Fruitful Earth.

Following a revolving personnel over the last two albums, the line-up is now cemented; joining Sarah to take the album on the road will be the killer live combo of David Gordon on bass (who has played with Julian Lennon & Canned Heat), plus Daniel Mayers on drums.

The EP features former Koot and Lea Shores slide guitarist Jamie Spencer Smith (who has worked with Morcheeba and Sonny J), Ben Ellis on bass, Gabor Dornyei on drums and Andrew J Jones on percussion (also known for his work with The Shortwave Set).

‘Sometimes You Just Don’t Know’ and ‘Live It How You Got To’ (taken from their debut) were engineered and mixed by Vasken Arslanian at Iguana Studio.  The songs feature Gabor Dornyei on drums, Johnny Copland on bass, Andrea Terrano on guitar and Sarah Blair on piano and vocals.

Live Dates

01.06.14  – London, New Cross – The Hill Station

06.06.14 – London, Greenwich – The Pelton Arms

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.