The Fruitful Earth announce new album ‘Rising Sun’ – out 28th April + track stream‏

March 8, 2014


The Fruitful Earth
Release new Album ‘Rising Sun’ out on April 28th
On Big Peach records

You can stream album track ‘Firebird’ here:

“Impresses right from the opening track. Those piano intros grab the listener every time” Mojo
“Jaunty piano inviting Elton John and Carole King comparisons” The Observer

On April 28th South London-based band The Fruitful Earth return with new album ‘Rising Sun’. Following on from their 2011 self-titled debut, their second longplayer was recorded in Albury Court Studios, Deptford, and produced by front-woman Sarah Blair in collaboration with Andrew J Jones, whose production CV includes fellow local heroes Squeeze.

‘Rising Sun’ is a charming affair, which merges the spirit of late 60/70s-style classic rock and singer songwriters with Sarah Blair’s endearingly esoteric songwriting and masterful piano chops. An enthralling and flamboyant listen, ‘Rising Sun’ channels the spirit of greats like Rickie Lee Jones, Judee Sill, Jackson Browne, Randy Newman and ‘Tumbleweed Connection’-era Elton John.

The dramatic and rock-laced ‘Firebird’ kicks-off proceedings with rousing Zeppelin-esque screams, with Blair’s deft vocals veering between light and dark, augmented by overdubbed self-harmonies.

The punchy and strutting ‘Honey Bee’ oozes rock n soul swagger, whilst ‘Up All Night’ continues the vibe – conjuring images of the band rallying a rowdy crowd in a smoke-filled American barroom.

‘Natural High’ berates a drug-bore friend over slide guitar, honky tonk piano and a low slung rhythm section recalling Little Feat at their greasy, funky best. Proceedings take a more reflective turn on the warm West Coast ballad ‘Rolling Free’, before things kick back up a notch on the pounding keys and drum solos of the aptly titled ‘Shake’.
‘Ford Cortina’ has to be the best ode to an automobile since the Beach Boys ‘Little Deuce Coup’, and the joyful ride comes to an end on the life affirming and hymnal ‘Love’.

Goldmiths graduate Sarah Blair originally specialised in classical composition and through her passion for other music (especially Bowie and The Stones) formed The Fruitful Earth to explore new territories.
Following a revolving personnel over the last two albums, the Fruitful Earth line-up is now cemented; joining Sarah to take the album on the road will be the killer live combo of David Gordon on bass (who has played with Julian Lennon & Canned Heat), plus Daniel Mayers on drums.

The album features former Koot and Lea Shores slide guitarist Jamie Spencer Smith (who has worked with Morcheeba and Sonny J), Ben Ellis on bass, Gabor Dornyei on drums and Andrew J Jones on percussion (also known for his work with The Shortwave Set).

Live Dates

27.02.14 – London, Westow Hill – Westow House

06.03.14 – London, Camden – Inspiral Lounge

21.03.14 – London, New Cross – Telegraph Hill Festival Opening Night

03.05.14 – London, Borough – The Gladstone

06.06.14 – London, Greenwich – The Pelton Arms

Full national tour details to be announced.


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.