New EP – ‘The Mispers’ – out April 13th on B-Unique Records

March 9, 2014


New EP – ‘The Mispers’ – out April 13th on B-Unique Records

Having very recently signed to B-Unique Records, London based alt-rock quintet The Mispers are to release their first self-titled EP on April 13th which comes off the back of the band’s inclusion in Clash Magazine’s ‘Next Wave Class of 2014’ list as well as being Zane Lowe’s ‘Next Hype’ on BBC Radio 1.

Of ‘Brother’, on which the band again worked with Duncan Mills (Jake Bugg, Peace), co-frontman Joey Arnold explains; “it’s a song that Jack and I wrote out in Australia before the actual band came together”. The Mispers were born little over a year ago after frontmen Jack Balfour Scott and Joey Arnold Zapata returned from said last minute, yearlong trip to Australia. ‘The track is about our bonds with our respective brothers, but overall it’s more about finding love in unorthodox places, with things or ideas, outside the norm of boy meets girl’ explains Jack. On their return to the UK, they immediately hooked up with Jack’s friend and drummer Jordan Grispino before expanding the line-up to include lead guitarist Diego Belmonte and violinist Hannah Van Den Brul.

Despite their intricate indie rock via folk sound on record, The Mispers bring a raw live energy to their shows, which has seen the band sell out every one of their London gigs thus far, building their own little world at each to invite fans and curious onlookers into.Alongside their regular shows, the band were inspired to create their own ‘Missing Til Monday’ parties, specifically to invite those that had been to previous Mispers gigs. Diego elaborates, “It’s like an oasis of salmon-fish-slap-round-the-face cheap drinks and epic vibes.” “It’s creating something out of that nothingness; that lack of opportunity that’s around at the moment.” adds Jordan.

Four-track EP entitled ‘The Mispers’ is released digitally via B-Unique on April 13th.

Pre-order link for EP

EP Track listing
1. Brother
2. Trading Cards
3. Coasts
4. Emilie

Pre-order link for 7″ vinyl

The Single Brother is released April 13th on B-Unique, on 7″ vinyl
7″ vinyl tracklisting
A: Brother
B: Trading Card


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.