Monkeytown Records presents… ALEX BANKS debut EP ‘All You Could Do’ out May 2nd

March 8, 2014

single_cover_final_01.inddSigned to the illustrious Berlin label Monkeytown, Brighton based producer Alex Banks will release his All You Could Do EP on May 2nd.

Streaming online now is single b-side, Alex’s own All You Could Do (Alternate Version) featuring vocals from Elizabeth Bernholz of Gazelle Twin.

The new ‘All You Could Do’ EP from Alex Banks sees him exploring similar territory to his eclectic Monkeytown label bosses Modeselektor, fusing techno crunch with the electro-indie songwriting suss of groups such as Animal Collective. His debut long player will follow on June 2nd, having been enthusiastically snapped up by the label….

“When Alex Banks sent us his demo we were stoked!We were so enthusiastic that we did not hesitate to meet and sign him on Monkeytown for the next three albums. It’s really rare to find an artist who has never released something before and who comes up with such a great album! We wish the world big fun with it!!” (Gernot Bronsert / Monkeytown Records / Modeselektor)

All You Could Do EP available on 12″ Vinyl and Digital Download from May 2nd:

A1 – All You Could Do feat. Elizabeth Bernholz
A2 – Phosphorus
B1 – All You Could Do feat. Elizabeth Bernholz (Phon.o Remix)
B2 – All You Could Do (Alternate Version)

Picked acoustic guitar comes together with pulsating machine rhythms, all made emotive and human by the melancholic vocals of Alex’s Brighton associate Elizabeth Bernholz of Gazelle Twin.

As well as the original ‘All You Could Do’, in all its moody fierceness, there’s a beautifully stark pulsating remix by German DJ-producer Phon.o, a haunting slow techno ‘Alternate’ take, and a brand new tune called ‘Phosphorus’ that comes on like the mighty Crystal Castles raving it up at a Polish warehouse party.

All in all, it’s a package that presents Alex Banks as a name to watch and makes his new album, ‘Illuminate’, all the more eagerly anticipated, with its release on June 2nd. Debut album Illuminate out June 2nd on Monkeytown Records.

Album tracklisting:

01 – Silent Embrace feat. Elisabeth Bernholz
02 – Solar
03 – All You Coul Do feat. Elisabeth Bernholz
04 – Initiate
05 – Lights
06 – Phosphorus
07 – A Matter of Time feat. Elisabeth Bernholz
08 – Sheya
09 – Hush
10 – Unknown

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.