Falling Off Maps announce debut album + Stream new single‏

December 6, 2013



Debut album A Seaside Town In Winter released 27th January 2014

New single ‘All My Fears’ out 20th January

Stream now

 “…this is heart-on-sleeve songwriting of the finest kind” Clash

“…comes across as more of a mini-symphony than a song” The 405

“Beautiful and haunting vocal… love it” – Edith Bowman (BBC 6 Music)

Nottingham’s Falling Off Maps have announced details of their forthcoming debut album A Seaside Town In Winter. Their stunning debut album features 15 expansive, mini-epics, including previous singles ‘Honest’, ‘The Redeemer’ and forthcoming single ‘All My Fears’, which will be released on 20th January 2014 and can be streamed NOW.

A Seaside Town In Winter by Falling Off Maps will be released via Square Peg Round Hole recordings on 27th January 2014.

Guitarist and vocalist Dave Wright says: “Of course we are excited for people to hear the album. A Seaside Town In Winter conjured up all kinds of possibilities and we spent a long time ensuring the tone of the songs fit what we wanted to get across, lyrically, it was about creating strong images and at times telling some quite dark stories. We are very proud of the piece of work we created”

The title sets the tone for Falling Off Maps’ haunting sound. It’s music that elicits certain adjectives to which the band members keep returning.  Solace. Hope. Intimacy. Escape. A Seaside Town In Winter is bleak  – yes, but ultimately it is uplifting too. Band and music speak of release and escape, liberation and euphoria too. You can’t have the highs without the lows and as such Falling Off Maps make music that ebbs and flows. Here elegiac electro and condensed musical dramas share similar sonic space as Radiohead and Leonard Cohen, Bon Iver, Death Cab For Cutie and early Elbow.

The band have been making waves for themselves throughout 2013 with a host of support for their single releases, including radio play from the likes Edith Bowman and Dermot O’Leary.
Falling Off Maps are band who are truly unafraid to bare their souls and their darkness. An album full of honesty and heart-wrenching emotion yet the warmth and familiarity of a band you’ve loved for years.
The end result is a stirring well of emotions. A widescreen, cinematic work. A thing of beauty.

A Seaside Town In Winter. A place you will want to re-visit time and time again.

Falling Off Maps are: Dave Wright (vocals / guitar), Dane Prewett (bass / electronics), Joe Watts (guitar), Tom Harrison (piano), Jay Wright (drums).

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.