Aviv Geffen & Steven Wilson’s BLACKFIELD returns w/ Brett Anderson + more‏

July 13, 2013



Stream ‘Pills’ here:

Aviv Geffen returns with Steven Wilson and other special guests Brett Anderson (Suede), Jonathan Donahue (Mercury Rev) & Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) for the new studio album

Israel’s leading counter-culture rock musician Aviv Geffen returns in August with IV, featuring Steven Wilson and other special guests.

Blackfield was started by Aviv and Steven in 2001 and have previously released the critically acclaimed albums Blackfield (2004), Blackfield II (2007) and 2011’s Welcome To My DNA.

Since Welcome To My DNA, Geffen’s profile has continued to rise and Aviv has worked with legendary producers Tony Visconti and Trevor Horn, played live with U2 and Placebo, and has been a judge on the Israeli TV show, The Voice.

The son of esteemed Israeli poet Yehonatan Geffen, and the nephew of Moshe Dayan, he is huge star in his native country.  An outspoken peace campaigner and fierce critic of the Israeli military, his frank political views have caused huge controversy while his records have been greeted with equal amounts of adulation, earning him a string of gold albums.

Aviv contributed the writing and vocals on Blackfield IV, with Steven Wilson – who also mixed the album into stereo and 5.1 surround sound – adding guitar and vocal parts.

The new album includes guest vocal performances from Brett Anderson (Suede), Jonathan Donahue (Mercury Rev) and Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema).

The album is available on double vinyl and as a 2 disc set. The limited 2 disc digi-book edition includes a DVD-AV featuring the surround mix presented in MLP Lossless & DTS 9624 and a 24-bit stereo mix presented in MLP Lossless & LPCM.

1. Pills
2. Springtime
3. XRay (featuring Vincent Cavanagh)
4. Sense of Insanity
5. Firefly (featuring Brett Anderson)
6. The Only Fool is Me (featuring Jonathan Donahue)
7. Jupiter
8. Kissed by the Devil
9. Lost Souls
10. Faking
11. After the Rain

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.