Artifacts return with free download ‘Fracture’‏

July 3, 2013


Artifacts return with free download ‘Fracture’

… soundscapes of pure ecstasy.
Artrocker Magazine

For fans of… Editors, White Lies, Elbow
Artifacts return with the free download track ‘Fracture’ – the b-side to forthcoming single release Sad Face. Sad Face will be available to download on August 19th via The Disappearing Act Records.

Sad Face, and the b-side ‘Fracture’, sees Artifacts continue to explore their stadium-sized sound, driven by Patrick Fitzroy’s dreamy, echoing vocal melodies and surrounded by walls of epic guitar riffs and chiming synths.

Indeed, ‘Fracture’ is the work of a band whose expertly crafted sound and lyrical depth belies their youth as the song swells beautifully into a grandiose, hypnotic guitar riff which truly sweeps you away.

You can download ”Fracture” below or from the the band’s Soundcloud page.

Lead track Sad Face further displays Artifacts’ diverse sound, with tender, introspective moments accentuated by the kind of rawness which White Lies and Clinic would be proud of. The song twists and turns from start to finish as the band toy with time-changes and sublime melodies.

Sad Face is the follow up to the brilliant single Echoes, released earlier this year to widespread acclaim. The band picked up support from the likes of Artrocker, The 405, God Is In The TV and Music Muso having previously received praise from Clash who described the band’s sound as “Noisy guitars embellished with synths struck like percussion”.

Artifacts were formed in secondary school by Patrick Fitzroy (vocals/guitar), Mark Rivers (sampler/keyboards) and Craig Brown (drums/vocals), with Sam Upton (guitar) and Tom Doyle (bass guitar) completing the current line-up. The band draw on influences such as My Bloody Valentine, Jeff Buckley, Sigur Ros and Radiohead, without ever imitating, to produce a modern and distinctive sound unbound by specific genres.

2013 has been a busy year so far for the band – having released Echoes in January, they have been performing throughout the UK, culminating with a recent headline slot at the High Street Live Festival in Crawley. Artifacts will maintain their momentum with a free download of ‘Fracture’ on July 3rd, followed by a remix by Esstie, before releasing Sad Face on August 19th.

Sad Face will be released as a digital download on the 19th August 2013 via The Disappearing Act Records.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.