Nonesuch Releases Soundtrack to Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis on September 16‏th

June 29, 2013


Nonesuch Releases Soundtrack to Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis on September 16; Album Produced by T Bone Burnett, Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

 Record features performances by Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake, Marcus Mumford,

Carey Mulligan, and Punch Brothers

‘Joel and Ethan Coen’s wonderful new film is the kind of great work that cuts right through the noise.’  New York Times

‘Audiences just heard a clean, hard crack: the Coen brothers hit one out of the park. The musical interludes are stunning.’  Guardian

‘A great film by two American masters, the Coens have taken a real time and place and freely made it their own, drawing on actual persons and events for inspiration, but binding themselves only to their own bountiful imaginations. The result is playful and evocative. There is also the joy of the music itself, exquisitely arranged by T Bone Burnett and sung live on set by the actors themselves. The soundtrack is stupendous.’  Variety


Nonesuch Records releases the soundtrack to Inside Llewyn Davis on September 16. Written and directed by Academy Award© winners Joel and Ethan Coen and produced by Scott Rudin and Joel and Ethan Coen, the film stars Oscar Isaac, Carey Mulligan, John Goodman, Garrett Hedlund, and Justin Timberlake. T Bone Burnett, Joel Coen, and Ethan Coen produced the soundtrack, with Marcus Mumford as associate producer. The album includes 12 new recordings made especially for the film and soundtrack plus an existing recording by Dave Van Ronk. Also featured is a never-before-released version of Bob Dylan performing his song ‘Farewell’, which was recorded during the sessions for his album The Times They Are A-Changin’ and is available exclusively on this soundtrack.

Inside Llewyn Davis is the Coen brothers’ fourth collaboration with the Grammy and Academy Award–winning Burnett; his soundtrack to their film O Brother, Where Art Thou? won five Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year and Producer of the Year. Inside Llewyn Davis recently won the Grand Prix at the Cannes International Film Festival and will be distributed by CBS Films in the U.S., where it receives its limited theatrical premiere on December 6. Studiocanal is handling international distribution for Inside Llewyn Davis, and the film opens in UK theatres on January 24.

Inside Llewyn Davis follows a week in the life of a young folk singer as he navigates the Greenwich Village folk scene of 1961. Llewyn Davis (Oscar Isaac) is at a crossroads. Guitar in tow, huddled against the unforgiving New York winter, he is struggling to make it as a musician against seemingly insurmountable obstacles—some of them of his own making. Living at the mercy of both friends and strangers, scaring up what work he can find, Davis’s misadventures take him from the basket houses of the Village to an empty Chicago club—on an odyssey to audition for music mogul Bud Grossman—and back again. Brimming with music performed by Isaac and Justin Timberlake and Carey Mulligan, as well as Marcus Mumford and Punch Brothers, Inside Llewyn Davis—in the tradition of O Brother, Where Art Thou?—is infused with the transportive sound of another time and place.

A complete album track list is on the next page. Soundtrack pre-orders are available now at and include an exclusive 11” x 7” print from the film. A trailer for Inside Llewyn Davis can be found below-

Inside Llewyn Davis soundtrack


1. Hang Me, Oh Hang Me

(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett)

Oscar Isaac

2. Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)

(Traditional; Arranged by Marcus Mumford, Oscar Isaac, and T Bone Burnett)

Oscar Isaac and Marcus Mumford

3. The Last Thing on My Mind

(Tom Paxton)

Stark Sands with Punch Brothers

4. Five Hundred Miles

(Hedy West)

Justin Timberlake, Carey Mulligan, and Stark Sands

5. Please Mr. Kennedy

(Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen, and Ethan Coen)

Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac, and Adam Driver

6. Green, Green Rocky Road

(Len Chandler and Robert Kaufman)

Oscar Isaac

7.  The Death of Queen Jane

(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett)

Oscar Isaac

8. The Roving Gambler


John Cohen with The Down Hill Strugglers

9. The Shoals of Herring

(Ewan MacColl)

Oscar Isaac with Punch Brothers

10. The Auld Triangle

(Brendan Behan)

Chris Thile, Chris Eldridge, Marcus Mumford, Justin Timberlake, and Gabe Witcher

11. The Storms Are on the Ocean

(A.P. Carter)

Nancy Blake

12. Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)

(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac)

Oscar Isaac

13. Farewell *

(Bob Dylan)

Bob Dylan

14. Green, Green Rocky Road

(Len Chandler & Robert Kaufman)

Dave Van Ronk

*Previously unreleased recording

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.