Johnny Kowalski and the Sexy Weirdos- Victory For The Monsters Album Release Out Now

October 27, 2012

Local talent Johnny Kowalski and the Sexy Weirdos are gaining quite the reputation in Worcester and surrounding areas, having a constant reference in our own Slap Mag each month, the band have worked themselves silly to the point of this momentous occasion- their album release.

Victory for The Monsters is officialy released today (October 27th)-
All lyrics by Johnny Kowalski
All songs Johnny Kowalski and the Sexy Weirdos
Except track 3 (John-Joe Murray) and 7 and 11 (traditional)
All tracks arranged by Johnny Kowalski and the Sexy Weirdos
Recorded by John-Joe Murray, additional engineering by Craigus Barry and Farmergeddon. Mixed by JJM and Phil Wilkins.
Recorded at Carnival Punk Studio, a temporary studio set up in a disused warehouse in Worcester, UK in Spring / Summer 2012.
Mastered by Richard Wood


1. Something Wonderful
2. Night Before
3. Park Lane Strut
4. Morning After
5. Scriptwriter’s Song
6. Talking About Me
7. Codisl
8. Klezmer Prayer
9. Going Out My Mind
10. Johnny Draw Back the Knife
11. Buba Maru

‘a declaration of war on the forces of mundanity and boredom’

Only two and a half short, action packed years since forming after a fight in a music shop, Johnny Kowalski and the Sexy Weirdos release their debut album “Victory For The Monsters” into an unsuspecting world. The Sexy Weirdos have been likened to acts such as The Pogues, Gorgol Bordello and The Specials, but they describe their music as ” carnival punk” – a strange mixture of influences from all over the world combined to make a unique punch that aims straight for the gut. Their live show has united many a disparate audience, with well written lyrics and exemplary playing providing substance to match the showmanship. “Victory For The Monsters” is many things – a prophecy of a new future for rock and roll,an overexcited invitation to party, a declaration of war on the forces of mundanity and boredom, but above all, it’s a great album brimming with the passion invested in every note, it’s mixture of heavy brass, esoteric fiddle, insistent, danceable rhythms and raw, hook laden vocals creating an impact you simply won’t find anywhere else.

Get More:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.