Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature

Introducing Pile- New Single “Prom Song” Debut+ Dripping LP Pre-Order‏

October 14, 2012

PILE Debut New Single and Album Pre Order

“Pile has surpassed the boundaries of conventional post-punk and alternative to create a mood all their own.” – Dig Boston

“Their recently released 7-inch that is currently blowing me away, especially with the lead track “Big Web” that sounds like everything that was awesome about indie-rock back in the early to mid-nineties. The single (and their album as well) reminds me of the more adventurous nature of some of those bands during that time, where going from track to track was hardly predictable but still able to maintain a distinct sound of their own.” – Built on a Weak Spot

“…Sounding downright loose and raw… Bits of hardcore adrenaline, country finger-picking, and garage rock energy were all filtered through Rick Maguire’s charismatic vocals. What I appreciated most was the unpredictability: they’d get a head of steam, then cut it off and hit a lull; threaten a set-ending jam and then stop the song entirely; turn a howl into a sheepish grin.” – New Artillery

“The next time Pile comes through town, it would be in your best interest to come out. They are something particularly special and worthy of your listening time and have the capabilities to captivate audiences of different archetypes with the same vigor of their own genre. They deserve a sold-out house…” – Creative Loafing: Charlotte

“Maguire’s dense amp tone paired well with Matt Connery’s slightly-fuzzed-up bass sound. Drummer Kris Kuss created huge sounds out of his standard four-piece kit. His sense of feel balanced his impressively precise technique, which anchored the magnificent noisiness of the more challenging songs of the set … The crowd dug it. So did this first-timer.” – Charleston City Paper

Introducing PILE. PILE is Rick Maguire – vocals/guitar, Kris Kuss – drums, Matt Becker – guitar and Matt Connery – bass.

Boston quartet PILE is getting ready to release their brand new LP, Dripping, on October 23rd through Exploding In Sound Records. Spanning ten tracks just shy of forty minutes, the heroes of the undisputed Allston basement scene continue to expand their post-punk/aggressive lo-fi indie sound into new and unpredictable directions. Following 2010’s much buzzed about Magic Isn’t Real and last year’s Big Web 7”, Dripping is Pile’s highly anticipated third full length (and first for Exploding In Sound Records). The band are offering a taste of what’s to come via Bandcamp, where you can stream/download the album’s first single “Prom Song” for free. A winding cascade of guitars and rhythms that permeate your eardrums with emotive depth, “Prom Song” is an experience as much a song. Please feel free to post/share the single.

Prom Song:

In an era when many claim the art of creating an album is dead, PILE have put together something truly special that begs to be listened to from front to back. Dripping, is an album in the truest sense, evolving and unfolding similar to the classic indie rock records that dominated the late 80’s and early 90’s.

Dripping was recorded and mixed by Dan and James at the Sex Dungeon (Speedy Ortiz, Fat History Month, Ugh God) in July of 2012 and mastered by Richard Marr at Galaxy Park Studios in August. The album will be released October 23rd on vinyl, digipak CD, and digital. Exploding In Sound Records are offering a limited edition white vinyl for the first 100 pre-orders, so get your today at

Well known for their explosive live performances, Pile has announced Fall tour dates throughout the country with more to follow:

10/18 Northampton MA – Sierra Grille
10/20 Brooklyn NY – The Paper Box
10/30 Brooklyn NY – Muchmore’s
10/31 Philadelphia PA
11/01 Washington DC
11/02 Richmond VA
11/03 Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill NC
11/04 Charlotte NC
11/05 Charleston SC – Tin Roof
11/06 Savannah GA
11/07 Jacksonville FL
11/08 Orlando FL
11/09 Gainesville FL
11/10 Tallahassee FL
11/11 Columbia GA
11/12 Atlanta GA
11/13 Athens GA
11/14 Asheville NC
11/15 TBD
11/16 Baltimore MD
11/17 New Brunswick NJ

Dripping Tracklist:

1. Baby Boy
2. So Hard
3. The Browns
4. Grunt Like a Pig
5. Prom Song
6. Bump a Grape
7. Sun Poisoning
8. Bubblegum
9. Steve’s Mouth
10. The Jones

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.