Feature, News

Jogging Unveil New Album ‘Take Courage’ Out August 24th On Out On A Limb Records

August 15, 2012

Jogging, the talented trio which hail from Dublin, have just previewed their forthcoming album due for official release 24th August on Out On A Limb Records. Find the album streaming below and pre-order information.

Take Courage is Jogging’s follow-up to the much-acclaimed Minutes (2010, Richter Collective), taking a leap in fidelity having been recorded in June 2012 with U.S. producer Chris Common (ex-These Arms Are Snakes, with production credits for Minus The Bear, Pelican, Mastodon, and Tiny Vipers under his belt). It will be Jogging’s first release for Out On A Limb Records, coming out on vinyl (with download) and digital on Friday, August 24th.

Jogging awakened in 2009 and quickly gained a formidable live reputation. They have toured Ireland and the UK, sharing the stage with Wire, Polvo, Ponytail, And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead and Themselves amongst others. Jogging’s music has been described as “an intense, raw blend of post-hardcore and gutsy indie rock”.

Take Courage sees Jogging dealing with constantly rearranging social structures, the aging process, and the effects of living out an extended teenhood throughout one’s twenties, all served up with a hefty dollop of malice and spite (albeit mostly directed towards same selves). The composition and collaboration is a marked progression on Minutes, where no part overstays its welcome and every transition is seamless yet startling. Sonically, it is worlds apart from the first record, as drums thunder their way through each turn, the well-rounded yet distorted bass rumbles and drives the melodies and the guitars cut though like ice-picks. The band’s trademark call-and-response vocals are barked with authority and conviction down to their last breath, and every word has resonance. A rare thing for an Irish record in 2012.

The album will be officially launched at Whelan’s, Dublin, on Saturday, August 25th, with special guests Elk and Guilty Optics. The launch will be followed by dates around Ireland in September.

Take Courage Tracklisting
1. Deadweight
2. Stand Still
3. Horse Sense
4. Good Gold
5. Every Bristle A Bayonet
6. False Spring
7. Skeletons, Inc.
8. Damage Control
9. Piecemeal
10. Winter In The Theatre

‘Take Courage’ streaming in full here:

Released 24 August 2012
Engineered and Produced by Chris Common in Sun Studio, Dublin, Ireland, June 2012
Mixed by Chris Common at Corkhouse Recording, Lisbon, Portugal, June 2012
Mastered by TJ Lipple in Washington DC, USA, July 2012.

Released through Out On a Limb on 24th August 2012. Available in all good record stores on LP w/ Digital Download or online from outonalimbrecords.bigcartel.com/product/jogging-take-courage-lp New Jogging album released on 12″ vinyl. Each copy comes with unique download code.

Release date: 24/08/2012
Item ships 23/08/2012


Get More:




You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.