Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature

Introducing The Joint Chiefs Of Math- Feature

July 4, 2012

Introducing the omnipotent instrumental duo The Joint Chiefs of Math.

Hailing from Philadelphia- which is currently home to a substantial amount of innovative bands and artists at the moment- are Marcus Denke who plays drums, electronics and vocals and Kevin Keenen who plays guitar, electronics and vocals. Together the pair combine their creativity to create an explosive melodic fusion of Math Rock, experimental, energetic instrumentation. Fusing their punk ethics with strong DIY roots results in a certain impetuous  attentiveness  to Joint Chiefs of Math.

The band which formed in 2008 have put out two full-length releases since. The duo are just about to release their newest record titled, WIRES, which took the pair around 3 years to write and record. The 11 track record is set for official release 28th July. In May of this year Marcus and Kevin unveiled a new vivacious video release for their track ‘Far Beyond Riven’ taken from their WIRES release.

Far Beyond Riven

Background art by : Joshua Mackie, Jon Vaders, Eloy Arroyo, Dan Angel & John Ricci
Production Assistant : Kyle Maack

Wires Tracklisting

1. I Can Break Literally Anything
2. Far Beyond Riven
3. It’s Way Salt
4. Snail Anon
5. Full Body Menacing
6. Rumors and Tumors
7. This Place is Other Places
8. Never Heard No Toothbrush 1.75
9. Is We Grindin’, Dog?
10. Then, That’s What I Call Music
11. Debtwish

Marcus Denke – Drums, Electronics, Vocals
Kevin Keenan – Guitar, Electronics, Vocals

Michael Kuhn – Drums
Daud El-Bakara – Trumpet
Carly Comando – Keyboards, Synthesizers

Engineered by Michael Musser at The Sugar Tank in Lancaster, PA in 2011. Additional engineering by Michael Kuhn.
Mixed by Boare Fleaked at Headroom Studios in Philadelphia, PA (Thanks to Joe Reinhart and Kyle Pulley)
Mastered by Ryan Schwab at Maniac Mansion in Philadelphia, PA
All photos by Brandon Kuzma
All songs written by Denke/Keenan. Copyright 2011/2012 Associated Sounds Ltd.

Streaming in full and available to purchase the vinyl release now, listen to Wires below-

Head over to The Joint Chiefs of Math’s bandcamp page to order the release now.

To coincide with its release the pair are about to embark on a tour with friends and familiar name to the site NAH. Recognized as Mike Kuhn, drummer for one of our favourites’ 1994!- Mike’s new solo and incredibly impressive outfit features the musician on drums, samplers and loop pedals. Join both acts on the road at the tour dates listed below-

NAH+ The Joint Chiefs Of Math Tour Dates



29 Philadelphia, pa @ Girard Hall w/hirs


1 Pittsburgh, pa @ Ormsby
2 Cleveland, oh @ the Dag House
3 Grand rapids, mi @ the DAAC w/the reptillian, jowls,
4 Chicago, il @ GNARFEST w/tons of amazing bands
6 Lexington, ky @ cosmic charlies
7 Christiansburg, va @ Lucie Monroe specialty coffee
8 Richmond, va @ TBA
9 Baltimore, md @ Golden West
10 Lancaster, pa @ The Chameleon Club

The Joint Chiefs of Math are truly one of the most impressive instrumental duo’s we’ve heard in a long time. Their audaciousness and compelling compositions leave you wanting more as you are drawn into the aggressiveness the pair perceive . Here is an act which will no doubt reach listeners afar and achieve more than thought possible.

We will be keeping a close eye on the pair and updating the site with any news from the band. In the mean time put their forthcoming record on repeat and order your copy now!

Get More:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.