Molice Release Their 3rd Album ‘Neugravity’ April 17 on Good Charamel Records [News]

April 11, 2012
 Molice Release Their 3rd Album Neugravity April 17 on Good Charamel Records
Label Also Set to Re-Release Band’s Debut Effort Doctor Ray
Check out their new Music Video for “Please, Please, Pris” at:
Band Also Appears on I Love J-Rock 2 Compilation Out Today

On April 17 Japanese Sci Fi /Alt-Rockers MOLICE release their 3rd album Neugravity and re-release their debut effort Doctor Ray, via Good Charamel Records in North America. The band also contributes two songs to Good Charamel’s just-released I Love J-Rock 2 compilation, where they appear alongside some of Japan’s best female fronted rock bands, such as Shonen Knife, TsuShiMaMiRe, LAZYgunsBRISKY and the label’s latest signing, tricot. I Love J-Rock 2 is out today, April 10.

MOLICE’s Neugravity retains the band’s raw rock sound punctuated by clever hooks, and lyrically goes deeper into sci-fi. Blade Runner in particular seems to have been an influence, demonstrated by songs titled “Rachel”, “Please Please Pris” and “Tomei Mamire” (Wiped Clean). Rambunctious rock, robots and romance? Welcome to the wonderful world of MOLICE.

MOLICE are a modern Japanese band who draw inspiration from 70’s punk’s DIY spirit, 80’s new wave and power pop as well as 90’s unchained indies guitar rock. While many Japanese bands are the product of management hired producers and stylists, MOLICE have gone their own indie way, and created their own sound from a wide and unlikely combination of influences. Music writers have scrambled to find comparisons, with the Pixies and the Pretenders coming up most often.

The band was formed in 2007 by the charismatic female singer/rhythm guitarist Rinko, high tension guitarist Yuzuru Takeda, and rock solid drummer Takeshi Koyama. Just months after coming they were invited to play Summer Sonic, one of Japan’s biggest festivals.

 After a year of polishing their material playing Tokyo’s numerous rock venues, the band made their recorded debut in November 2008 with their album ‘Doctor Ray’. The album quickly drew attention amongst Japanese rock fans, and surprisingly, substantial acclaim from abroad. The singles “White Vertigo”, “Ms. Panic” and “Headphone” found their way into rotation on numerous US college radio stations. Good Charamel Records proudly re-releases this classic album in North America on April 17.

Their sophomore effort Catalystrock was released in March 2010 and caught the at­tention of Good Charamel Records, who released the album in North America with bonus remixes included.

MOLICE has posted their brand new music video for “Please, Please, Pris” on the Good Charamel website. Check it out here:

The clip is also slated to run as a Video of the Day on on May 2.

Neugravity Track Listing

2. Please Please PRIS
4. Smeared Clear
5. Pleasure Song
8. Active Imagination
9. Cheeky Afternoon
10. YOUR nation
11. Control Control 
12. Jewel Story 

Doctor Ray Track Listing: 

1. White Vertigo
2. Headphone
3. Ms. PANIC 
4. Dear CHANGE
5. Love Song
6. POP
7. Excellent Space
8. Viri Viri
9. HOLE !!
10. Pale Wind
11. Pretty Sound


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.