The Samuel Jackson Five Set To Release New Album 30th April [News]

February 28, 2012

The Samuel Jackson Five release new album ‘The Samuel Jackson Five’ out 30th April 2012 on Denovali

Having set a high standard with all previous efforts, the new album shows the band from quite a different side. Let’s skip to the main new addition right away: Yes, the album has vocals! Truls Heggero (of Lukestar fame) and Pål Angelskår (Minor Majority) – both Norwegian Grammy winners – contribute on one song each on the record, the same does Thomas Bratlie from post-hardcore rockers Rumble in Rhodos, on the aptly titled “Electric Crayons”. New addition to the band, Jonny “the Captain” Knutsen also does vocal chores, while the recording process has been carefully overlooked by multi-instrumentalist Thomas Meidell.

While SJ5’s last effort, “Goodbye Melody Mountain” (2008) was recorded in the wilderness, the brand new album was put together in the middle of Oslo, and includes urban soundtracks like “Moscow” (written in the Russian capitol and features noise from Berlin at night). The band further tries to distance themselves from their post-rock roots, delivering a thoughtfully arranged set of songs – only two of them clocking in at over 5 minutes.

There are more traces of JAGA JAZZIST, ARCADE FIRE, YES or even English folk, than Mogwai or GYBE!. There are even influences of the proud Scandinavian piano jazz tradition of JAN JOHANSSON or ESBJÖRN SVENSSON. The 40+ minutes will definitely give these Norwegians a bunch of new followers, while challenging the devoted fan base.


1. Never-Ending Now
2. Moscow
3. Electric Crayons
4. Radio Gagarin
5. Race to the Self-Destruct Button
6. What Floats Her Boat
7. Ten Crept In
8. A Perennial Candidate
9. Tremulous Silence
10. …And Then We Met the Locals
11. Low Entropy

The self titled album is the fourth one by Norwegian instrumental specialists “The Samuel Jackson Five”.

Get More:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.