Feature, News

Mr Maps- Wire Empire Remixes [Album Stream]

January 28, 2012

Last year we introduced you to Mr. Maps. The five piece instrumental dynamic post math rock band hailing from Brisbane, Australia.
Mr Maps consists of Musicians:

Chris Perren -Guitar, Electronics
Andrew White -Bass guitar
Briony Luttrell -Cello, Electronics
Jac Hicks -Drums
Mitch Knox -Keyboard

Mr. Maps make instrumental music drawing from math-rock, post-rock, electronic and minimalist influences. The band released their debut album Wire Empire in 2011, an epic instrumental journey of angular guitar/bass/drum grooves laden with lush cello & keys, spanning the range between delicate and brutal. The result of more than a year’s worth of production, it was tracked with Steve Bartlett, mixed and co-produced by Joss Rigby and Andrei Maberley, and mastered in New York by Scott Hull. Critics described it as ”a creative triumph and proof that Brisbane collectives can make compelling, world-class instrumental music” (Rave) and “an intelligent, nuanced post-rock masterpiece” (M&N)  

Wire Empire was pressed to high-quality 12″ white vinyl, inside gorgeous packaging featuring artwork by Neil Taylor and design by Anna Harris. This epic and bold math-rock opus is now available in a format that is not only a limited edition collectable, but affords the natural and immersive listening experience that only vinyl can provide. We were extremely lucky to have been sent a copy thanking us for our support- We’d like to say a sincere thank you!

Back in December Mr. Maps released a new remix album of Wire Empire. The 10 track album is streaming below and available to download now.

Wire Empire Remixes Tracklisting

1. Step Step (Mr. Maps Remix)
2. Nice Fights (ReSTReAM ReMIX)
3. Tennis Party (Grids/Units/Planes Remix)
4. Cover Your Heads (Hunz Remix)
5. Nostalgia is Crippling (Dot.AY Mega Drive Mangle)
6. Fly, You Monumental Mistake (Collarbones Remix)
7. Secrets You Could Sift (The Holy Cow Remix)
8. Hundred Hour Flight (Tara Simmons Remix)
9. Creature Crumpets (Subsea Architeuthis Dux Remix)
10. Totalism (Underlapper Remix)

Remixes of Wire Empire tracks by Mr. Maps and friends.

Released 15 December 2011
Full credits & links to remix artists available at:

Get closer to the band here. 
Or follow them on tumblr here. 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.