ISLET Debut album ‘ILLUMINATED PEOPLE’ to be released January 23rd on Shape‏ [News]

November 7, 2011
Islet have announced their debut album, to be released 23rd January 2012 on Shape (Turnstile). Illuminated People follows 2010’s rapturously received pair of EPs – ‘Celebrate This Place’ and ‘Wimmy’. The ten tracks stand as a bold opening statement from the Cardiff group who have quickly confirmed themselves as uninhibited by conventions, relishing expanse and experimentation.

The album was largely recorded on a farm in Worcestershire and for the first time the group worked with an outside producer, Drew Morgan, bringing together what has now become their most coherent record to date. Complete creative control is ensured with the group releasing the album on Shape Records, run by Mark Thomas of the group.

The first taster of which is ‘This Fortune’ available for free from here:

It’s live where Islet have thus far built their reputation, sometimes with ritualistic chants delivered offstage; meandering off into the crowd, percussive breakdowns, always with tumult and joy. In person as in their music, they seek to break down walls. Expect the unexpected when they tour this November:

11 – MANCHESTER, Deaf Institute
12 – LEEDS, Constellations Festival
13 – NOTTINGHAM, Bodega
14 – NORWICH, Arts Centre
15 – BRIGHTON, Green Door Store
16 – LONDON, Lexington
17 – CAMBRIDGE, Portland Arms
19 – HAGUE, Crossing Borders Fest, The Netherlands
20 – ANTWERP, Crossing Borders Fest, Belgium
23 – CARDIFF, Buffalo

Also available, on tour only, will be a 12″ of This Fortune, featuring a vinyl only 15 minute sound collage made by the group; a swirling mass of found sounds, fragmented thoughts and previously unheard tracks.

For more information visit:

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.