Cloud Nothings reveal mixtape of album influences [News]

November 23, 2011

Having introduced the world to his new darker, edgier sound earlier this month, Cloud Nothings’ Dylan Baldi has revealed some of the influences behind the band’s forthcoming Steve Albini-produced album ‘Attack on Memory’ and has created one half-hour long mixtape of rock classics.

You can hear the mixtape here:
Cloud Nothings “Attack On Memory” Mix 2011 by Wichita Recordings
Baldi had this to say about the mixtape:

“While I was writing the songs that would become ‘Attack On Memory’, I listened almost exclusively to music that was made before I was born. This is a pretty common practice for me, actually, but I took it to a new level while making the record. I more or less memorized every guitar solo on the best Thin Lizzy albums, listened to only The Wipers for about 3 weeks, and fell asleep to Black Sabbath every night.

This mix condenses my listening habits into an easily digestible “best of,” songs that strongly affected what I was thinking while writing my own music. Not to say that every song on ‘Attack On Memory’ sounds like Killdozer, but I do think that the influence of these particular tracks is often obvious, and hopefully sheds some light on why the new Cloud Nothings album sounds so different from any of the past recordings.”
Mixtape tracklist:

01. Black Sabbath “Supernaut”

02. Nina Hagen “Born In Xixax”
03. Killdozer The Pig Was Cool
04. Zounds “This Land”
05. Thin Lizzy “For Those Who Love To Live”
06. The Wipers “No One Wants An Alien”
07. Bitch Magnet “Navajo Ace”
08. Swell Maps “The Helicopter Spies”
You can download ‘Attack on Memory’s menacing album opener ‘No Future/No Past’ here:
‘Attack on Memory’ is released on February 6th 2012 through Wichita Recordings.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.